Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm pretty new to all this stuff but I'm learning as I go. I'm trying to create a pretty decent NA build overtime but I'm not 100% sure on some things. I just purchased skunk2 stage 3 cams along with titanium retainers and new springs. I plan on buying a new chain and tensioner as well. People have been saying these cams like a higher compression ratio around 12.5 to 1. Should I send the head off to get ported and buy higher compression valves? Also what should I be looking for injector and TB wise?

Build: 2007 civic si, k20z3, full skunk2 exhaust + headers. Skunk2 cai, hondata, stage 2 clutch + flywheel

·
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
6,603 Posts
Welcome 0260in15mins to K20a.org! That's a very nice first post. I love NA engines...

...skunk2 stage 3 cams along with titanium retainers and new springs....saying these cams like a higher compression ratio around 12.5 to 1. Should I send the head off to get ported and buy higher compression valves? Also what should I be looking for injector and TB wise?
Which series did you buy? The S2 Tuner Series 3 or the S2 Ultra Series 3? Beside that, the stage 3 cams are both crazy high engine speed supporters. With a duration of 282°@1 mm or 277°@1 mm you will see a peak power around 9000+ rpm (depending on displacement). On a 86x86 engine you may look for a piston dome volume of 16+ ccm (never saw a piston with that 🧐) to get a valuable dynamic compression ratio. My recommendation for you would be, search for the highest possible CR piston, look for very light pistons and rods, make your engine safe for 9500 rpm at least to gain what these cams are designed for (1/4 mile, high speed circuit racing).