Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m putting a K24Z3 in my NB Miata; it’s intended sole use is 1/4 mile drag racing. I’m sure a lot of people know of KMiata, but for anyone not up to date with Miatas I’m using their E46 ZF 6-speed kit in combination with their new K24Z3 swap kit. I want to use a Precision 6266 (possibly 64/6766?) to make around 6-700hp at the tire. KMiata also sells the V8Roadsters Getrag rear kit, but I’ll be fabricating a custom 4-link solid 8.8 rear.

I’m wondering what all is really necessary to make that much power without anything breaking for at least a few racing hours; I’m pretty new to the K series engines, coming from building a Mazda BP.

I’m pretty sure I need pistons, rods, head studs at least, I’ve read stock sleeves will apparently handle that much power? Other than that I’m not really sure, I had to use a billet oil pump, ATI damper, LS ignition coils, cams, head and main studs etc. for a BP to make that much power.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also I will be using a MaxxECU Race with my own custom wiring harness, fueling will be through a twin pump surge tank setup, W/A intercooling, etc. 8.5 second NHRA/IHRA 10-point chromoly cage, E46 trans, Ford 8.8 rear. With that much power I figure it can definitely run low 9s possibly high 8s, since it is roughly 2,000lbs with how much weight I’ve removed.

This is more of question strictly adhering to the engine and what it needs to hold that power

·
Registered
253 Posts
i‘d sleeve it. This give you the extra headroom in strength. Won‘t be too long before you give it a few more PSI to scratch the 800-900HP range. So do it right from the beginning.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i‘d sleeve it. This give you the extra headroom in strength. Won‘t be too long before you give it a few more PSI to scratch the 800-900HP range. So do it right from the beginning.