Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last night, the shop and I loaded up the K-Pro with the cold-air tuned base map after I saved a file that included the immobilizer, multiplexor, and OBDII disabled.

Background:
I noted that the software version I have on my K-Pro is 1.0 and the Hondata site is using 1.6.

Everything is plugged and wired up properly (or so we think). The car is an OBD1 DC2. The wiring harness is Hybrid-Racing.

The issue:
With everything powering up, the car turns over but does not light up. Fuel pressure is reading 0. Upon further investigation, the fuel pump doesn't prime when power is turned to "on".

What we've been looking through:

Everything is grounded properly. All lines, vacuum hoses, etc. are on correctly. The only thing we can trace back to is the wiring at/near the K-Pro/ECU. With datalogging on, and the K-Pro plugged into the laptop, there is data being recorded on many sensors from the instant ingnition is turned "on" and we try to turnover the engine. Ignition reading is obviously "0".

We are now stuck on the "jumper" wire mod. The Hybrid-Racing instructions tell us to connect (from the car's "A" harness) the A7, A8, and A9 wire together. Also connect the A13 and A20 wire. Finally, jump the A23 and A24 wire. On my car, I don't have an A8, so we've jumped the A7 and the A9 (one is a green while the other is blue). Is what we've done correct? If not, what are we doing wrong?

Pleas of help
PLEASE, PLEASE give us some suggestions at what else to look at or tips on wiring.....I want to drive my car!!!

Back to a moment of maturity:
Thank you in advance for any suggestions, ideas, or help.
 

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
nikos said:
What a lot of people have done is directly connect the fuel pump to the fuse box. That should do it.
Ok so this leads me to three questions:

1. Isn't the fuel pump normally on a relay that connects to the fuse box (at least that's how it's wired on my S2000).

2. Is this a known "issue" for other K-swaps?

3. If I do this, what fuse should I wire it up to? Should it be a fuse in the under hood fuse box, or the cabin mounted fuse box? What fuse does everyone suggest (it needs to be on only when ignition is set to "on" and to a fuse that handles specific AMP rating).

Again thank you very much. If it works out, I may be driving my car home today!!!
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
15,811 Posts
If you want to car to run you can hardwire it to the fuse box under the dash.

However this is more of a temp solution. You should try to figure it out with hybrid racing.

Assuming you are driving the car and the car rolls over and the engine stops... and a fuel line breaks... that fuel will keep coming out until you take the keys out of the ignition.. I know it is extreme but we do want you to be around to post pics :p
 

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Update:

Will from Hybrid walked us through the wiring yesterday. Turns out that a few pins in two connectors are missing in a Type R harness versus the Type S harness. One pin that's missing is the main fuel pump wire that leads to the relay that controls it.

Got that sorted, and the fuel pressure gauge began reading 30 psi. The car fired right up.

With datalogging on, and the engine warming up, two DTC codes where thrown. First code was an 02 improper temperature code. We turned off the secondary O2, which isn't plugged in and cleared the code.

The next code was a temprature heater control code. The shop owner/tech traced it back to the IAT not reading anything. He was stumped on that last night.

Anyone else with engine code issues and can aid in any insight on how to get the motor running clean without any codes?
 

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
hybrid racing said:
Could you post the exact DTC code P_ _ _ _.
I'll get them tonight. Unfortunately, we used the laptop that I am on right now. I can't find the .kdl file that we recorded with the three different DTC codes we pulled.

There's a good chance that Maui (the shop owner/tech) may have figured out the issues last night. He is one of IL's top import tuners.
 

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
BTW,

BIG STANDING OVATION for Hybrid-Racing!!!!!!!

It may sound like I may getting on my knees and be suxxing Hybrid-Racing's d!ck....but I'm not.

I paid full retail for my Hybrid parts. I would gladly recommend them to anyone just based on their service and customer support. Even when there was a K-Pro ordering snaffu*** at no fault of their own, they stepped up to make sure that I got my ECU back and priority shipped.


***K-Pro snaffu occured at Hondata. They mixed up my RSX-S ECU with another one that came into them. The other one was clearly hacked out of a car, and hacked open. There was a mounting tab broken off, all stickers and bar codes were removed, the casing was beaten, and even the insides looked like they barely survived the Asian tsunami. The oerder was delayed so that Hondata could investigate...overall, there was a three-day lag. At their own expense, Hybrid-Racing upgraded shipping to overnight air once it was in their hands (even though it wasn't their fault).

BIG THUMBZ UP FOR HYBRID-RACING

;) When you come out with stuff for S2K's and I need something, interested in sponsoring me?
 

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Ok, no more check engine codes, intake is mounted, went with a RSX-S map with CAI.

The only issue that's apparent now is a temp sensor isn't being read (temg gauge on the dash is showing no funtion), and the oil light on the dashboard blinks every handful of startups.

I testdrove the bad boy yesterday on the private road in front of the shop. The car had no hood or no fornt end (bumper cover, headlights, etc.). This crapper pulls HARD in second gear....I want to see what it does in 3rd gear!!!!

I'll get the car out of the shop either tomorrow or on Saturday morning so that I can take it straight to an exhaust shop that can weld up a flex pipe with flanges to match the TSX DC Sports header, and the Skunk2 exhaust pipe.

Anyone with ideas on the oil light? BTW, the oil is fresh and new...it's topped off right.
 

·
My other car is a S2000
Joined
·
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
nikos said:
What temp sensor are you using? B series? D series?
How is it hooked up?

The oil light sounds like loose wiring.
B-series sensor.

I will check the wiring.

Here's some pics from yesterday:





 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top