Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
470 Posts
woke up super early today and no im bored outta my mind so i wanted to put up pictures of wat i do for a living i build tunnels in NYC like water tunnels and train tunnels things like that the pictures im going to show u r the begining of a train station/tunnel 150 feet deep....right now were in the middle of a process called drill and shoot... we drill 10-15ft deep holes in the shaape u want the tunnel to be then u load them all with explosives and i no u guys can figure out wat happens after that lol:cool:
i work for local 147 (nyc sandhogs) there even a show on the discovery channel about it call SANDHOGS. i neva been on the show though since i work night shift and im pretty sure wen they were filming i was out with a broken leg from a car accident.

This is the shaft were every comes down and leaves the tunnel around 120ft deep right now...the little yellow cage on the far left is wat takes the men in and out(MY BAD CAGE IS 2 PICS UP). the crane pick up everything else like the bucket in the picture will prob end up being a stairway or something to get into the train station wen everything is done

Attachments

·
Registered
470 Posts
more pics

my turbo beast :p :rolleyes: (wat we use to drill the holes. cost the company 1.2 million dollars)

And it in action

The beast getting greesed up for a hard day of work

The inside (They keep breaking the damn bullet proof glass thats like an inch or 2 thick and cost the company like 5 or 6 grand to fix :down:)

his turbo beast :dance::dance:

Another drill used to drill down holes

And last wat gets it all done

Attachments

·
Rebuilding phase
8,450 Posts
This has to be one of coolest jobs ever? How do they ventilate down there with all that equipment running? I hope they pay is good for all the risk you guys take down there.

Nice pics :up::up:

·
Registered
470 Posts
Discussion Starter #4