Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This thread is meant to provide info on the differences between the varius different K24 models and the build up, and different parts needed, for the K24-K20 Hybrid.

Let me first say that as most people are, I am somewhat new to the K-series world and what i write is not neccesarily going to be correct. That is why i am writing this. To learn what i do not know.

Lets first start with the different models of the K24
I am not to sure about the differences, and what advantages one might give over the other?

Usdm TSX=K24a2
JDM Accord=K24a
Usdm CRV=K24a1

Will the K20EG mounts bolt up the same on the K24 block as they would on the K20?

Now I am planning on building a 2.4L all motor TSX motor and swapping in as much of the K20a DC5 components as i can. This would include a full type r head, is there any modification needed or will the head bolt right up? I plan on using the K24 block with custom pistons and rods, i am not sure if a new crank will be in order or if the TSX crank will be up to the job? the next step is the Tranny. From what i know the TSX tranny has a Magnesium case which is lighter than the DC5's. Is it possible to pull the gearing, and LSD out of the RSX case and install it in the TSX mag case? What would be the downsides to this if any?

This is by basic plans and this thread is here to dicuss these plans and help anyone else who is considering a comprable motor set up, so if you have a question or something to add feel free, it would be appreciated. If not thanks for reading, go do some research and come back, just don't post things that have no value.

·
Premium Member
7,171 Posts
Discussion Starter #2