Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone found a way to pass smog in CA yet?? Ive searched everywhere and couldnt find anything on a way to pass. I have a K20A and have to smog in March. I was also thinkin that since my motor is not in yet, could I just smog my stock 1.6 non vtec CX motor and then throw in the K20?? any help would be cool. thanks

·
Registered
203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Alright. Its been a while but I have found NOTHING on passing smog. So i am just gonna smog my 1.6 this month and then throw in the 20a. thats the best way i guess.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Im an enhanced emissions technician and i use to work at the referee station, what are you question about smog? let me know. do you have a pic of your engine bay. do you have any mods?

Oh yah this is a question for Marouj, this is not pertaining to racing, but do you have a mom that use to be a teacher? if not sorry i asked ok.

·
Banned
320 Posts
Well I think the sticking point is this: can you make the motor run with NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT without using KPRO? I have not done it personally, always had one code on all the swaps I have worked on (I forget which one off the top of my head, I think it's the multiplexer?).

IVTECCRX, am I right that at the ref station they check the ECU, and if it is throwing a code you will fail? Also if it has KPRO you will fail, correct?

So it seems like it wouldn't work. At least in CA...

·
Registered
40 Posts