Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i got a k24 turbo, has a 5 speed out a ep, from what i can find its got a 4.7X ish r&p in it,

do they make or sell a 3.6XX- 3.3XX ish R&P for these trannys,
i need to strech this thing out a little to calm it down,

·
Premium Member
4,294,967,295 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,576 Posts
whats r & p? it sounds like your talking about the final drive in the tranny.

yea the ep3 tranny has a 4.7 final drive, same as the type-s 6 speed. The base rsx 5 speed has a 4.3 final drive.

i think there is a 4.0 aftermarket final drive. Thats the lowest i've seen.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i got 235-50 15 tire, im new to the honda stuff iv been messing with vw's all my life and they got LOTS of different r&p. so i was just tryign to find out what hondas got ya know

·
Premium Member
4,294,967,295 Posts
whats r & p? it sounds like your talking about the final drive in the tranny.

yea the ep3 tranny has a 4.7 final drive, same as the type-s 6 speed. The base rsx 5 speed has a 4.3 final drive.

i think there is a 4.0 aftermarket final drive. Thats the lowest i've seen.
Ring and Pinion, the final drive ratio.

DaBeetereater - with your tire size (about a 24") you should be good unless you are pushing north of 400 in a beetle lol. Is the clutch engagement breaking it loose? Maybe try the 4.3 from the 02-04 type-S/02-06 base RSX.

There are lower final drives available from europe, some info here http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=34070

·
Registered
3,120 Posts
You should be fine with the 4.7 FD (r&p). If you change it to a smaller one you will loose alot of your torque that the fd puts down to the ground.

Unless you are FI (forced induction) with lots of power.

PS: if you want to change it, I have a 4.3 that ill trade you for the 4.7.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #7