Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys, I’m new to Honda motors and I may ask some dumb questions but I need help. I’m sick of the bike engine in my race car and I’ve decided to pick up a K24 with a boxster 5 speed transaxle and get the adapter plate from Kennedy. I’ve gotten this far and I need some help with the details. First off anyone who has a K24 in a race car or kit car and have gone through this please share your experience and let me know what may save me time and money.

first Q is about the ECU, should I get a factoryRSX ECU and get it running with that or should I get a stand alone ECU? My plan initially is to run NA with bolt ons then possibly turbo in the future.

little info on my car, it’s a formula Jedi formula 1000 chassis converted to a prototype body car. It weighs 800lbs wet. I’ve owned the car for 2 years and haven’t enjoyed more than 1lap under power due to clutch issues with the gsxr1000. I’m finished with the bike motor and ready for k24 power!

Tire Hood Automotive tire Vehicle Wheel
Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Automotive tire Hood

·
Premium Member
10,576 Posts
Ok, first and foremost, what's the budget here. If it's in there don't bother with a factory based ecu. Much more tuning control with a full stand alone. Personally I'd go with a company that will easily integrate into a dash display, lose analog gauges altogether at that point and have a pseudo can network to run with. With that sort of chassis, traction may or may not be an issue. I thought there were stand alones that can handle that as well.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·