Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm typing this out to document all of the things that I've had to do to my 05 EP3 to make a 06 RSX Type S powertrain completely compatible with my EP3, including making it PA safety and emission compliant (which is very difficult to do in my county). I'm also a tech working at a Honda dealership, so I had all the troubleshooting resources that I could possibly need to figure out how to make my vehicle work properly.

I started off with a 05 EP3 that had the HFP package installed on it. I bought it from Virginia, and it lived most of its life in Texas, so it had little rust which was great. I originally also owned a 06 RSX Type S, which is where my swap came from after I rolled my RSX.

I was going to pull off the powertrain swap after an eventual totalling accident involving my RSX (wasn't trying to pull off an insurance scam, I'm just prone to accidents that by happenstance totals a car, so I wasn't surprised when I wreaked my RSX). After my accident, I assessed that my engine and trans survived the roll over, and the only thing that broke on the engine was the evap canister purge solenoid.

On to what I used to make the swap work, I was using the ECU, the engine, the trans, the A/F sensor from my RSX. Taking the A/F sensor was actually imperative for the car's emission operation, but I didn't realize that at the time. Me taking the A/F sensor off my RSX was due to a completely different reason. For the wiring, I used my EP3's engine harness, and to convert the ECU and the VSS to be compatible with the EP3 harness, I used a ECU jumper harness from HAMotorsprts, and a basic VSS jumper harness. To convert the VSS signal to the chassis side of my car, I used the K-Tuned all in one VSS converter. I also used my old K20A3 knock sensor due to me using my EP3's starter and charging harness.