Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,
I’ve NEVER built an engine before and I have a k24a4 and would like to build an engine capable of revving to 9k rpm that is reliable. Is a budget of 2-3k for the long block realistic? I’ve read the best flowing vtec head is the PRB k20a2, but I would need to swap pistons and I might as well swap rods.
Can I use oem k24a2 pistons and rods or should I use forged aftermarket piston and rods?
Do I use the k24 chain, guides and tensioners?
Can I use the k24 valve cover with the k20 head?
Which k24 head gasket should I use?
What machining should I get done on the block/head?
For the oil pump Hybrid Racing says stock k20a2 pumps can cavitate past 8500 rpm. Should I go with a ported k20a2 oil pump or an f20c oil pump or will the stock k20a2 pump be sufficient to rev to 9k.
What camshafts and valvesprings would work best on a budget?
Should I use a 25° or 50° Vtc gear?
Can I use the k24a4 sensors, accessories, coil packs and injectors?
Sorry if there are any dumb question I don’t know much at all about engine building, any help is appreciated.

·
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
7,494 Posts
I am not the right one for low budget project experience, so there are maybe cheaper, less reliable solutions possible. Just my two cents in advance, a 9 krpm revving 99 mm stroke makes no sense when you call 3k USD your budget limit. Engine preparing, tuning hardware and hours, header and IM as well as exhaust will eat about 3-4 k USD, the engine is even not touched. Just my two cents.

would like to build an engine capable of revving to 9k rpm that is reliable. Is a budget of 2-3k for the long block realistic?