Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay first and foremost, I'm pretty new to working on cars, and on a whim I decided to K-swap my integra.. I pretty much have all the swap parts, and currently I have pulled the engine and will be starting to remove passenger side mount.

However.. I have a question regarding cooling.. I'll probably ask a lot of dumb questions here, so be patient with me. I've researched as much as I can, but a few things im a bit confused about..

What would be the least expensive, least modification needed, and have the most reliability for a radiator setup? I thought about going with an RSX radiator, but I don't currently have it and fear it would be to tall and there would be lots of modification to fit it. So i would have to remove the bracket/mounts or wahtever you call them and maybe lower them? I do have the OEM radiator houses from an rsx though..

Or I'd go with a half size civic radiator out of a 92-00 civic, but I heard there are cooling issues with that radiator, and I'm unsure how I would mount that also..

Ideally I would want to use a hybrid/tuned full size kswap radiator, but they're $400 and that doesnt help me in the least expensive department. I'm planning on making around 250 HP+ and my engine is far from stock.

Thoughts?

:thud:

·
Registered
494 Posts
im using a 02-05 civic si (ep3) koyo radiator in my dc2. running for 2 years no problems at all. no modifications to the lower radiator tabs and using upper oem brackets.

·
Registered
641 Posts
i ran a aluminum rsx rad in my dc2 with no problem. I just relocated one tab on the bottom.

Ive also used a ktuned passenger rad set up (no modifications at all)

and now a civic aluminum rad on the driver side with a spal 1710cfm fan (definetly not the cheapest option)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4