Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im really new to the k series and im just trying to do some research cause i plan on swapping one of those motors in my car but not sure which one to go with. which ones faster and be better fixing up?

·
Banned
15,812 Posts
That is a very good question. You have to look at the facts and make your own conclusion. Personally, I think the k24a2 is a nice motor with some good potential.

Other than one user who swapped it in his RSX, I have not seen any other dynos. Compared to a k20a2, I think with same mods, it is going to make more power and more tq. The problem is that once you get it, you have to make it work by adding certain parts.. Also hondata K pro is pretty much necessary. For the price they go for it is a good deal because you know you can sell that head for $1000 easy and that shortblock for another $600-$1000.. At first the tsx swaps went for $4000 but the reason why we are seeing the $2000 prices on them is supply.

You see with $3500 you can get a type s swap with motor, tranny, ecu, harness, shifter cables, shifter, and pretty much everything to get the motor started...

With the tsx, you have to mix and match... So in most cases, on top of the TSX motor, you have to buy the throttle body, manifold, ep3/type s tranny, type s harness, shifter cables, shifter, starter, alternator and whatever sensors that are broken. You might also need to do some machine work etc... on the block (see ongoing threads on people's tsx projects) Most of these parts, you have to buy used..... A starter new for example is $700.... alternator $700... harness $300... and so on.. so it is better to get them used to save money...