Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

· Registered
2004 CM7 Accord - K24A4 - 5 Speed Manual
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Y'all

I don't have much to give in terms of a story this time. Since this is my first time pulling apart an engine, I'm not really sure what I'm looking at. I just get the feeling that it's not great

All kinds of oil varnish on the piston, the rings look to be in good shape though:
Automotive tire Sunglasses Motor vehicle Wood Camera lens

Not really sure what to make of this:
Human body Automotive tire Wood Art Human leg

This is pretty representative of the bearings on all four pistons. they all have these black spots and odd areas of discoloration:
Helmet Human body Collar Sleeve Sunglasses

Musical instrument Shipping box Revolver Strap Fashion accessory

the real kicker, however, was the state of the mains. the side with the oil passageway looked fine, as expected
Hand Guitar accessory Gesture Finger Wood

But, the non grooved side decided it was gonna make its own grooves. not good as far as I know
Wood Finger Bumper Nail Auto part

lastly, here are the bearing seats on the block and girdle. along with the crank journals (which I forgot to take pics of), they look suprisingly decent. not that it matters, since I'll be using a different block
Automotive tire Wood Motor vehicle Automotive wheel system Gas

Automotive tire Wood Rim Bicycle part Engineering

so yeah, what do you all make of this?

· Super Moderator
Lotus Elise K20A2
1,739 Posts
pistons:
p2w clearance was a tad too tight or the piston temperatures too high.
scratches are from debris, so oil coke or poor air filter performance.
Given the milage, they look OK.

bearing shells:

The deep scratch in the mains are usually caused by debris in the oil. You also need to check the crank if there are burrs on the oil hole.

The rod bearings look bad. Would you be able to post a picture of the journal facing side of the the bottom rod bearings?