Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 02 Civic Si.

Nothing done to it worthy of listing right now, I am also relatively new to all this.

I am wondering the best route to take. Any input would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Vague....

I'm basically interested in hearing from someone who has done this themselves, maybe made some mistakes they could tell me about so I don't do them as well. Maybe which parts, setup, all that would be the "Best Recommended" method.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You're right, I apologize for that...

I would like to turbo it eventually, I want the car to be my daily driver but also be able to achieve at least mid 12's. It's not super super fast but I would like it to be a real practical daily driver as well.

Should I just save up and do it all at once? Or...?

Thanks.

·
Registered
269 Posts
12s can be achieved with a stock k20a3 motor[add turbo].

If youre not familiar with turbo setups you can start searching around for a good "kit"

STAY AWAY FROM EBAY TRASH

Im sure there are some nice kits available from some of the site vendors, dont forget to get a good engine management hondata's K-pro is a great.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm also interested in building up the entire engine. The engine I have now has 130K on it but it's highway miles, it runs great no problems and all that but I would like to get a really solid, strong, reliable engine as well.

·
Registered
2,531 Posts
Your best option is to pull the A3 out, sell it and slip in a K20A2 w/6spd and ECU. That was the best mod I did with my EP3.

·
Registered
118 Posts
yeah pulling the a3 and swapping an a2 is easy but expensive. With 2 months of down time you can pull the a3 motor and build it with stronger internals.