Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I heard today that the k-series bearings are too thin for big boost and big power. Does anyone have experience that the high compression + boost = smashed bearings?

I plan on running 5-7psi on my stock k20a with 11.5:1 CR and a small turbo like gt28rs.

·
Registered
154 Posts
You'll be fine. I've been running 30psi for 2 years with no problems.

·
Registered
457 Posts
They are small, I bet you will be fine, or Honda would not have put them in there. Just make sure your oil pump is good, and you have good oil pressure and level. I spun a #4 bearing due to oiling failure. When we rebuilt it the first time, we called Calico Coating and bought their bearings, the are ceramic coated ACL bearings for a B18, I forgot with letter code though, they have it. It is slightly bigger and works. When we tore the motor down again 17K miles later and over 100plus drag passes and the last 3K miles I didnt care and abused it, ran it waaaaaaay low on oil, raced it like that, etc, we pulled the bearings, they had ZERO, yes that is right, ZERO signs of wear.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Why would the bearing being thin, make anything weaker or more prone to wear? Because, in theory anyways, the amount of material that is being used on the journals creates less friction due to it's size right? Correct me if I'm wrong please, because I want to understand this myself. I've heard of using H22A engine bearings in the K series bottom ends, but I'm unsure why that would be beneficial at all.

·
Registered
14,750 Posts
It doesn't have anything to do with friction.

Picture it like this. Take a hammer and hit a piece of sheet metal. It will probably bend. Now Take that same hammer and hit a 1/4" plate of steel. Probably not going to budge. Thats basically what's happening when those bearings are going round and round.

A thinner bearing will take less force.

get it?

·
Registered
12 Posts