Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m not an expert, I just have a lot of knowledgethere is inherent danger when going to the track, review that liability and make your own decision.

Only take a car to the track you can write off and walk away from. Learning to race can be dangerous… don’t go to the track with something borrowed or with a loan on it. It’s just not a good idea. Every single weekend some HPDE car is totaled… it’s just a fact. Crashing happens… just remember that when you take your freshly painted (on a credit card), with a built motor (on another credit card), and mint JDM front end car (which left you $5 in your bank account) car (which also is your only car to get to work) out on track.

Example: This is literally my first track day back in 2002 (maybe 2001?). Stock-ish 1990 CRX Si, intake, exhaust, Falken Azenis and Carbotech XP9 brake pads... no tune, no suspension, no power, etc... cheap.
Wheel Tire Land vehicle Vehicle Car

For the sake of "keeping it short" (haha) this is track-centric... autox, hill climbs, etc. are just different animals. This is focused on how to get into wheel to wheel racing OR into time trail events... as the journey is basically the same in North America and you make the decision on which "racing" event to proceed into. I will not argue on time trail vs. wheel to wheel racing at this time (maybe later).

Feel free to join in the conversation, engage those interested, and hopefully this thread can evolve into a comprehensive and informative piece. This isn’t a comprehensive list of organizations… it would almost be impossible at the rate organizations keep popping up!