Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the K series game I want to know if i'm planning on doing a K24 bottom with a K20a2 head swap. Is there a difference between the CRV(K24a1), ACCORD(K24a4), and TSX(K24a2) bottom end since i'm swapping the head anyways? i know that i have to change the pistons to K24a2 are there any big changes in horse-power and Torque between the 3? Please help me out people

·
Registered
15,818 Posts
the accord pistons will not work with the k20a2 head.

The CRV and TSX pistons will work..

the TSX pistons will make more power than the CRV because they are higher compression.. 10.5 vs 9.6

The bottom ends are all the same basically... the only difference is that the tsx block has oil jets to cool the stock pistons... Any block will do.. if you are looking to set some new world record on a motor like this lasting 100K miles+ maybe the tsx oil jets would be a good thing... but most people sell their motor or swap it for something else not before too long...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the accord pistons will not work with the k20a2 head.

The CRV and TSX pistons will work..

the TSX pistons will make more power than the CRV because they are higher compression.. 10.5 vs 9.6

The bottom ends are all the same basically... the only difference is that the tsx block has oil jets to cool the stock pistons... Any block will do.. if you are looking to set some new world record on a motor like this lasting 100K miles+ maybe the tsx oil jets would be a good thing... but most people sell their motor or swap it for something else not before too long...
so if i get a K24a4 motor all i have to do is change the pistons, oil pump and bolt the k20a2 head to it an i'll be good?

·
Super Moderator
26,616 Posts
so if i get a K24a4 motor all i have to do is change the pistons, oil pump and bolt the k20a2 head to it an i'll be good?
Yes.... :up:

·
Registered
583 Posts