Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
811 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a situation.. I have a RSX DC5 shell(i bought it that way), and i need to install the complete K20 drivetrain.. Unfortunetly i'm new to the RSX game, although i have tons of experience with the common B.series swaps and a few K.series Civics.. I've never done a K.series in a RSX b4.. Any pointers? Whats the easiest route? Install from the top or from the bottom?

I don't own a engine hoist, but i can try and borrow one.. I don't have a lift, as its being done in my home garage.. The engine swap is currently sitting on a rollable dolly and i was just thinkin, just drop the subframe and wa lah.. However, i just got off the phone with one of my friends and he's tellin me the subframe is kinda heavy and a bitch to line back up..What do you guys think? Being that i don't have access to a lift nor a engine hoist.. Is it fesiable doing the K20 swap in a RSX from the bottom without runnin into any problems? Or should i just try and borrow a engine hoist and lug it on over to my house? Thanx in advance..

Attachments

·
Premium Member
15,759 Posts
i would borrow a engine hoist, , ive installed a drivetrain in a ep3 and it went very smoothly doing it from the top, , ,rsx i think should be the same game.

·
Registered
2,531 Posts
I always do it from the top, remove the hood and go to town. I find it far easier and quicker than lifting the chassis up, unless you have a hydraulic chassis lift.

·
Registered
811 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I always do it from the top, remove the hood and go to town. I find it far easier and quicker than lifting the chassis up, unless you have a hydraulic chassis lift.