Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone,

Wanted to put my skills and education to good use and contribute to the community. My name is Ping and I am a mechanical engineering student in the Arctic North (Canada). I will give you some background, what I am doing and why I am doing it…

Went to University of Waterloo from 2010 – 2015 for a Mechanical Engineering degree, joined a student competition series called Formula SAE, where we design, build, test and compete with an open-wheel-single-seater powered by a hybrid drivetrain. Had to learn everything from vehicle design theory to vehicle dynamics, from computer modeling of various components to manufacturing of said components, various use of hand tools, machining tools and of course how to ghetto-rig some last minute things with zip-ties and hose clamps. If anyone is interested I have attached the website of our team to this post as well

http://waterloohybrid.com

So with these acquired skills I wanted to build my own car into a performer, but time is limited and not much happened on my personal vehicle during my education, but it’s been a year since I graduated and finally things are looking up. My goal for the car is to set the lap record at Toronto Motorsport Park (commonly called Cayuga) in the street class on a budget.

Purchased a 2000 Black EK Hatch back in 2012, daily drove it for a year and a half until the oil consumption became a handful on the original D16Y7 with 32x,xxx kilometres or (200k miles). In that year and half’s time, I read forums for hundreds of hours researching the K swap and tracking the 6th Gen chassis. Mainly information from K20a.org, Honda-Tech, Club Civic and some random forums, but I wanted to choose K20a.org to post this thread because I probably spent the most amount of time here for all the K Swap information.