Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i have a 2000 civic ex with a k20a2 swap. The car was working fine before it started blowing fuses. However now when i try to start the car the fuel pump isnt priming and the check engine light doesnt come on. When i replace the fuse the car will start like normal however when i try to put it in gear and drive the car the fuse will blow again and the power will shut off. I believe its blowing the fuse labeled alternator sensor sp. Could the sensor be the reason the fuel pump isnt priming and car isnt starting? Im a newb at wiring and really dont have much experience, any insight/advice is much appreciated.
-Nate

·
Registered
563 Posts
i would try replacing the Alt if you can get a spare one, but it sounds like your wiring is grounding somewhere. I'm sure others that no more about this will chime in.

·
Premium Member
3,137 Posts
is there any bare wire near the alternator?

also now you have to find what the fuse powers... You could also have something back feeding because of a loose ground at the pump or alternator..

I'll have to look up wiring diagrams to see what else that fuse goes to

EDIT: this could be in your pnp harness as this fuse also goes to the cluster, vss, o2 sensors and alternator

so you can try a wiggle test... sounds kinda simple and it is but will drive you crazy! You need to find a circuit breaker or a lot of 7.5A fuses, dont use a bigger fuse it could damage the wiring! Just wiggel the wiring around the alternator check fuse, check at 1 side of pnp harness, check fuse and so on!

·
Registered
2,827 Posts
check ur wires make sure there not touching any where i had tht problem make out 1 wire was touching ground

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
its absolutely a dead short , no doubt about it.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6