Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hear that the 5 speed is better for a turbo car. But would a 6 speed be better for a turbo road course car? I have been finding the 6 speed trans for around $700-900 shipped. And I also hear that the 5 speed trans is considerabilly alot cheaper. Any input would be great. I am new to the whole K-series world.

·
Super Moderator
26,616 Posts
5spd is better for turbo since you wont have to shift so soon. 6spd..... Well..that speaks for itself... It's 6 gears... It's just to say you have 6 gears...

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I plan on doing a lot of road racing with my car next year. Anybody here road race with a 6 speed and then changed to a 5 speed?

What is the better of all of the 5 speeds to aquire?

·
Super Moderator
26,616 Posts
EP3 si 5spd

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
All of the shifter boxes are the same from the RSX. You can use it with a 5 speed or the 6 speed transmission. And the same goes for the cables as well.

·
Registered
124 Posts
All of the shifter boxes are the same from the RSX. You can use it with a 5 speed or the 6 speed transmission. And the same goes for the cables as well.
cool thanks.what ecu would u have to run with the 5 speed ?can u use a 6 speed ecu for a 5 speed.and what harnss ?it should not matter just wanna check.thanks

·
Super Moderator
26,616 Posts
Well if you should have Kpro and if you do, then it doesnt matter.. The 5spd ECU doesnt have the reverse lockout feature but that is not a big deal.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Well if you should have Kpro and if you do, then it doesnt matter.. The 5spd ECU doesnt have the reverse lockout feature but that is not a big deal.
nice thanks and so it will not matter what harness then right as long at it for a 5 or 6speed tranny and not a drive by wire harness?

·
Super Moderator
26,616 Posts