Honda / Acura K20a K24a Engine Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a K24A1 longblock in which I plan to put a K20Z3 head on. This motor is being built for drag racing with a goal in mind of a 7 second 1/8th mile. No street driving involved.

I was thinking of using Wiseco 13.7:1cr pistons in this build. With that sort of compression in mind, I will only be using race gas.

I need help on choosing the "right" head components such as cams etc.. Being as this is my first build.

Thanks in advance.
Jason

·
Registered
143 Posts
Ok most builder will Keep there spec to them-selfs due to competition. I don't build, I buy stuff. 7 sec 1/8 mile, you want it all up front on take off, witch is not what most here do. They are 1/4 mile racers. Go to the drag talk and read the all/motor 1/4 mile info, and find 11.2-5 sec set-ups & you'll have a 7 sec 1/8 mile all/motor build.

·
Premium Member
2,663 Posts
with that compression that you're wanting to run, plan on adding some stage 3 camshafts. With a good tuner,good driver,good suspension setup,good size slicks and you should be hitting 7sec 1/8th times no problem. also what chasis are you planning on putting this motor into??
I've already achieved 8.0's 1/8th with only a stock k20a2 motor with bolt on's... that time was with a pathetic launch of 5500rpm on 22x8x15's on 10psi(first and only time ever ran on slicks). I am confident that with a higher launch and 7.8's-7.9's are there.

·
Registered
1,429 Posts
I recently purchased a K24A1 longblock in which I plan to put a K20Z3 head on. This motor is being built for drag racing with a goal in mind of a 7 second 1/8th mile. No street driving involved.

I was thinking of using Wiseco 13.7:1cr pistons in this build. With that sort of compression in mind, I will only be using race gas.

I need help on choosing the "right" head components such as cams etc.. Being as this is my first build.

Thanks in advance.
Jason