I have experience in:
  • Engine building (and engine swaps)
  • Very entry level tuning
  • Desire and drive to succeed
  • Being optimistic
  • Patience
  • Not being afraid of failing and trying again
  • Asking for help
Full disclosure: I just tinker with cars on my free time. I have been a Systems Engineer for 20 year's so when I'm not at my desk working my 9-5, I'm spending time with my family. When I have spare time, I work on car's and my experience is solely based on that.

With that said, I currently have a 1st Gen Honda Civic from 1977. I wanted to work on something that was extremely challenging especially in areas that I have zero experience in.

When my wife and I purchased our second home 2 1/2 years ago, we wanted a place where I could build my own shop for my hobby and where she could build on her own hobbies as well (she's not into car's 馃槣)

In a nutshell, this is what the shop looked like before

This is what it looks like today

With that said, I feel comfortable working on the projects I choose. I won't get into the details of the tools I have but in a nutshell, I have a lift and an air compressor (soon a welder) among many other standard and specialty tools so I know can accomplish this.

Here is my '77

It is beat up! Lots of rust everywhere when I picked it up. I just put it on the lift last evening to check out the condition underneath. I have not taken pictures yet either so we'll see what's up.

I spent most of the day just cleaning up the shop as much as possible and then doing a preliminary test fit of a K24 in the car.

The goals on this build:
  • Body restoration inside and out
  • Converting it to RWD
  • Configure an N/A K20 engine w/ 260 - 300 WHP
  • Drive it everywhere and enjoy it! No track use except to probably take it once and see what it can do down the 1/4
I have a fully assembled K24 with all accessories on it that I used briefly to test fit and get an idea of clearances in the engine bay