CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2011, 05:25 PM   #1
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Here's my hatch
'09




'10





After 8+ months of sitting while I saved $$$ (Spring '11)



I've owned it since 1996. Its had the stock D16Z6, B18B1 (installed 1998), and a B16A (installed in 2009)

Here's my previous motor (w/CTR cams, ITR springs, Cam gears....and A/C)




The hatch was my Daily Driver until late last year. It has been a part of me for too long and I am terribly attached to it.
I always wanted a K-Swap (well......for the last 8 years or so) and when it went from the DD to the fun car......I started saving.

I spent a considerable amount of time researching on this site.
I didn't have the funds yet....so time was all I had

I would like to thank many of you who humored me with your patience and knowledge.
I have very few Honda friends (most of my friends giggle at the EGg) and I have absolutely no one around me who knows K-swaps
I have learned a lot from you guys and I appreciate it.

Thanks to Hybrid Racing (David and Will), Karcepts (Brian), K-Tuned (Mike) and ASP (Stefan)

Now on to the parts:

I was torn between the cheaper way (parting stuff out a piece at a time) or paying for a complete swap from a reputable company or anything in-between
In the end.....I went for the whole swap for its piece of mind, low miles and avoidance of issues with shipping, multiple seller, bogus parts, etc.

I went for a complete K20A swap from HMO
Steve was a great person to work with

The swap came with:

K20A longblock, trans, ECU, shift cables/box, OEM Type-S axles, USDM O2 sensors, Temp sensor and fan relay (for swap)





All these parts went to a machine shop:

I took the transmission off and removed the flywheel for re-surfacing (CC stg 4, OEM Throw Out Bearing and trans parts all greased up per Helms)
I also took the OEM Brake Rotors off (re-surfacing) est.1992!!!
And I bought Karcept's 36mm nut hubs (for the Type-S axles) and OEM bearings

Stock versus Karcepts



On the car



BNIB OEM RBC IM installed




ASP group buy budget header (also bought 3" exhaust kit for my EGg)




Here the engine bay paint after a few swaps and motor removals (sometimes all alone lol)



I took the old trans mount off (for the K-swp mount install)
I took it to a PPG paint store where the matched it for less than $10 OTD
I carefully taped off a few places and shot the bad spots (it ain't a show car) I am happy with the results.

Motor after I just dropped it in (thanks to Big Boy Ross and Chris)
(you can kinda see the improvement from the quicky paint job)




Hasport Mounts
Hybrid Racing Fuel Rail
06 Civic Si idler pulley (easiest install of the whole thing lol)




K-Tuned FPR, Ram Air Intake, Pass Side Radiator/Hoses (only pic I could find I'll get more soon)




Had to cut the hood for clearance with brake booster line (bent nipple down a little) and evap purge
I am no painter and I did it in less than an hour.
Paint results are....meh b/c I used the same rattle can and the hood is fresher paint than the Engine Bay...... but its works!










Grounds I made (soldered)



Looped my PS unit (might want a elec PS unit later) ~$50



On the mini-lift for exhaust




2.5" car sound cat, 2.5"-3" transition, 3" Vibrant Resonator, 3" ASP exhaust kit






I got this Muffler left to put on. I am bitching out and taking it to a exhaust shop b/c the outlet after the suspension is really high and I don't know how to make it clean looking without having the muffler point to the ground




Now on to the problems I ran into:

Swap came with a PRC ECU.....suppose to be a quick and easy ECU for me to start with (K-Pro funds are not here yet lol but its happening by Spring)
Car wouldn't start......I checked as much as I could (grounds, power, injectors, spark, etc)
The injectors were not firing but it everything else was fine
Long story short....called Steve at HMO and asked him. He asked if my PRC had "J01" after it says "PRC".....yes I did
Steve told me it has immobilizer like USDM PRB's.
Dave at HR sent me a Immobilizer Bypass Unit to try.
After I figured out how to get the pins into the clip (thanks Will at HR) the car fired up! (PRC-O13 don't need the imm. bypass unit but PRC-J01 does)

Car had a hunting idle......so I cleaned the IACV (so I thought) but still hunted
Bought a Lisle Coolant Funnel....no air in system but still hunted
Finally I figured out I needed to take the electrical portion off the mechanical portion of the IACV.
Soaked it overnight in carb cleaner and car idled like a dream!

Car had CEL for both O2's. Steve at HMO thought it was odd and said USDM scanners don't read a stock JDM ECU
I sent pics to Will at HR and my secondary O2 was wired fine. I was stumped.

Last weekend, I got most of the exhaust welded on and I turned the key to the "on" position.....the fuel pump didn't turn on.
I started looking around at wiring and noticed that that one of the leads for the imm bypass was loose.
I reset it in the clip....started the car and the codes were gone

Not sure if that was the issue but all I know is the codes are gone and that stupid light isn't lite on my dash anymore!!

I finally took it for a shake down on Saturday. Drove around slow listening.
U-turns and braking and such.....no issues so I took it out to a country road.

I was pretty nervous (lots of money and time) but finally pushed it in second gear and let VTEC hit.....whoa she rips.
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-31-2011, 06:33 PM   #2
Clipsejr
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Clipsejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 660
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

glad to hear you got it rollin again
Clipsejr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 07:31 PM   #3
K20ADC2R
K20a.org Basic User
 
K20ADC2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 444
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

should have used a header with a 3'' collector, and 3'' cat
K20ADC2R is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-31-2011, 10:03 PM   #4
colemillerkills
K20a.org Basic User
 
colemillerkills's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Coconut Creek, Florida
Posts: 148
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

looking good!
colemillerkills is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 11:23 AM   #5
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by K20ADC2R View Post
should have used a header with a 3'' collector, and 3'' cat
If you read my post.....you can see that I was on a group buy for a ASP header.....its 2.5 collector....no if's, and's or but's about it. And I already had the 2.5" cat from my ITR B-series header. Add to the fact that there are not a lot of companies making 3" collectors makes it a hard find.

But thanks for the comment??
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 11:47 AM   #6
.CriMson
K20a.org Basic User
 
.CriMson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 327
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

build is coming along nice man, real clean hatch and the swap sits very nicely in there
__________________
95 DB7 [K24/K20] :: ITR[4]DOOR :: KSQUAD representin
.CriMson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 04:08 PM   #7
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipsejr View Post
glad to hear you got it rollin again
Quote:
Originally Posted by .CriMson View Post
build is coming along nice man, real clean hatch and the swap sits very nicely in there
Thanks guys.....you both helped educate me through this process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninjaturtle2048 View Post
looking good!
Thanks, Cole. I know your hatch will be looking much nicer than mine when its done.
Can't wait to see you in your next match too
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 05:23 PM   #8
perry9262
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 230
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

car looks good man
perry9262 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 07:03 PM   #9
K20egcw
K20a.org Master User
 
K20egcw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: ☆★ ℂolorado ★☆
Posts: 4,266
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Hell yeah, your car looks good! Glad you got it running like a champ

In for vids
__________________
‎135
├┼┼┒
246R
Force Fed K20A swapped 93 hatch
K20egcw is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 07:18 PM   #10
Kevmaster25
New Member
 
Kevmaster25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Springfield MA
Posts: 47
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Nice, Keep Us Updated Bro
__________________
K-TUNED
RHD K20 ITR Integra 4Bangersproduction Rosario Photography
www.Youtube.com/4bangersproduction
Kevmaster25 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2011, 07:35 AM   #11
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by K20egcw View Post
In for vids
I will post a video in the next few weeks. Hoping to get the muffler put on and then I will take a couple cool videos of it rippin'
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2011, 07:40 PM   #12
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quick video. I need a traction bar and new suspension. K-pro may need to wait


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kBDmzksy2A
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2011, 06:56 PM   #13
baloonazar
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 207
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAFROG View Post
Quick video. I need a traction bar and new suspension. K-pro may need to wait


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kBDmzksy2A
sweet very fast! Thanks for all your help too. I got my swap from hmo also
baloonazar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2011, 10:18 PM   #14
Ba82Ep3
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 938
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Im diggin the transformation.

I read through everything... no mention of your axle choice?

Wait till you get KPro. That k20a moves after some toonage!
__________________
Check out my BEATER!!

Ba82Ep3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2011, 07:04 AM   #15
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ba82Ep3 View Post
Im diggin the transformation.

I read through everything... no mention of your axle choice?

Wait till you get KPro. That k20a moves after some toonage!
My axle combo is Karcepts 36mm nut hubs and OEM Type S axles with inners swapped. So far....no problems. U-turns and the whole 9-yards.
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2011, 09:55 PM   #16
Ba82Ep3
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 938
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Does the LED on your cruise button turn off and on with the switch...?
__________________
Check out my BEATER!!

Ba82Ep3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2011, 07:00 AM   #17
[email protected]
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,415
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Good looking EG. Well done.
Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2011, 09:29 AM   #18
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ba82Ep3 View Post
Does the LED on your cruise button turn off and on with the switch...?
Yes it does work. But no cruise control or light on cluster

Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Good looking EG. Well done.
Thanks Mike. I appreciate your help.
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 04:14 PM   #19
Ba82Ep3
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 938
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

My EJ decided it wasnt going to start today. Kinda forced me to troubleshoot a few things and i ran across something of interest.

There are two switches on the clutch pedal. The upper switch is for starter kill, lower is for cruise control. My switch was fine... but there is a little blue plastic plug that fits in the pedal as a stopper to allow each switch to work...

... mine were both gone. The one for the starter switch was on the floorboard in pieces.

Since each switch has to be pressed for a closed circuit... if your switch is bad or that plastic plug is missing... no start... or no cruise... depending on which switch youre looking at. Easy way to see if the switch is bad is to unplug it and short the harness plug with a paperclip.

Remove the under dash plastic access cover and knee bolster. Unplug everything from the under dash fusebox, pull the two 10mm nuts that hold it in place, move it down and you have easy no neck breaking access to both clutch pedal plugs.

Just tossing out things i run across workin on this pile...
__________________
Check out my BEATER!!

Ba82Ep3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2011, 04:30 PM   #20
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: CAFROG's EH3 K20A Swap

Got me thinking I need to look at mine now to see if the Cruise Problem is there. The 2 other swaps (B-series) never had an issue with the cruise but I know what you are talking about and it is a fun experience getting under that dash (I'm 6'2")

Got my first K-swap Kill on a 350Z.....didn't even know the guy but I passed him on a back highway pretty hard so he wanted to play.

He kept with me from a dig until I grabbed.....not until I got in 3rd gear. I pulled him hard after that.

We also did a 60mph roll and I walked away really quick (even though I accidentally took off late)

I had a full tank but he had a passenger (who got the 60mph roll on his iPhone lol)
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.