Another Phase Gap Error 0341 - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 07:14 PM   #1
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Well I just got my engine together recently after a few obstacles .I had the cyl head and block resurfaced .The head was resurfaced twice due to a machine shop error .My timing marks on the crank are a little off but other than that everything else seems to line up properly and there are 9 links between the dots on the cam gears .I have read every thread on here and some other forums and talked to a few knowledgeable folks but am still uncertain .I get code 0341 a few seconds after I start the car. Could the material taken off the head and block cause the crank pulley mark to be off this far also causing the code to be set .Has anyone else experienced this issue and able to shed some more light on this for me ? I dont wanna set up an appointment and tow this car hours for tuning til I know its right .I have swapped the vtc , cam sensors and ohmed out the wiring to the ecu.I dont wanna pull the timing cover but if need be I am gonna .Any input is appreciated unless your gonna tell me to search cause as I said I've read every thread I can find on this subject .Thanks



__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !

Last edited by vdubkilla; 02-13-2013 at 07:57 PM..
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
K20EF8
Lifetime Member
 
K20EF8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,437
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

k20 or k24?

taking a little off the head shouldnt have any effect and I think most motors have the arrow at the crank slightly ahead.
Are you sure you put the chain on the right spot on the crank?
Are you sure you put the crank pulse plate on the correct way?
K20EF8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 08:27 PM   #3
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

K20 and as far as I know the chain was put on the crank properly but myself and a friend were both working on it although he has assured me it was correct .As far as the crank pulse plate can it be put on incorrectly ?
__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-13-2013, 08:30 PM   #4
K20EF8
Lifetime Member
 
K20EF8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,437
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubkilla View Post
K20 and as far as I know the chain was put on the crank properly but myself and a friend were both working on it although he has assured me it was correct .As far as the crank pulse plate can it be put on incorrectly ?
It looks correct in the pics.

Yes you can put the pulse plate on backwards.. im not sure what code it would throw exactly though.
K20EF8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 08:40 PM   #5
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

I just went out and looked at another crank and pulse plate I have and I see it is marked with "outside" on the crank pulse plate and will go on the crank either way .Its a possibility but I also don't know what code it would throw I would think a crank pos sens code but ??
__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2013, 07:01 AM   #6
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Bump for more insight on this
__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2013, 02:37 PM   #7
eK24monster
K20a.org Master User
 
eK24monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Walnut, CA
Posts: 1,251
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

The crank trigger wheel could very well be your problem but before you go through the trouble of taking it apart... check both camshaft pulse plates. There was a factory service bulletin put out talking about methods of torquing the cam gear bolts and not to use the rear locking pins as a way to keep the cams from moving... as it was leading to sheared pulse plate keyways.

Not saying you did it this way but you can easily check the pulse plates. if the keyways are intact, your problem is elsewhere.

Also try swapping sensors with know good ones. Could be a bunk sensor.
eK24monster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2013, 02:55 PM   #8
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Well thanks to K24eg22 and Jeremy at Inline Pro I was able to find the issue today and correct the problem .It was indeed a problem with the pulse plate alignment as there is a small amount of play in the pulse plate "very little" but enough to enable the intake cam pulse plate to be to one side of the "Play" and it was enough to trigger the code. The arrows on the intake cam were not aligned 100% on the cam tower splits causing the alignment issue and tripping the code.I simply pulled the valve cover loosened the pulse plate bolt and rocked the pulse plate ever so slightly the other way .I cleaned up the threads with some brake clean ,put a drop of locktite on it and re torqued it .Re-checked it and re assembled everything .Fired it up and now have No codes so the issue was indeed the cams pulse plates not being in sync setting the Code .I can only assume the cams have been this way since they were installed and milling the head and block threw it off enough to set the code .Bottom line is this make sure the arrows on the cam phase plates line up evenly with the splits in the cam towers evenly on the trans end of the cyl head.



__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !

Last edited by vdubkilla; 03-02-2013 at 07:24 AM..
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2013, 03:29 PM   #9
crip
Lifetime Member
 
crip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.Florida
Posts: 2,721
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

great info on the follow up. something else to note if i ever have that issue.
__________________
SOLD TO:iboyma, donsep3, honda_12v, allmotorbubble, Nitro1018, ZAKE, alex_KS, Db2K, shattamac, spoonhacked, richir587, datdude814, FlacoNAEG, michalo187, youhan23, valerio123, 7800rpmlaunch, screech, miaep3, 1320whtrex, asnstyle22, rvf35nc, sictegboi3, 828DC5. BOUGHTFROM: josh2man, kid, ek9-10, stRoKeD, xbigpitax, ohsnapzfingcu, mountainK, ctechone01, jpax, kadamski5140, i-vtec-eg, mo_spec, chefandre, sik20, cjm, mlotz29, yeven_stas, REALDEAL, KDub-ZeroEG, jchetty, 2.4L ef, nine2fivek20, blankyjet TRADED WITH: Acurazor, rsxmatt1985 VOUCHES: josolanes, sik20, flipsx3, noobiemcnooberson, BMFC
crip is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2013, 08:42 PM   #10
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Here is a shot of the end of my camshaft hence why I had the slop in the phase plate that caused the code in the first place .I just pulled the cams and when I removed the phase plate this is what was found .

__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 02:06 PM   #11
yazz
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Hi!

Is that the sam problem as:
P0341 - Camshaft Position Sensor Circuit Range/Performance

Please could anyone tell me...
yazz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 02:48 PM   #12
vdubkilla
Lifetime Member
 
vdubkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: East Coast
Posts: 6,922
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

same code
__________________
What good is a tank with a stupid driver the one with the brain is the sole survivor !
vdubkilla is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2013, 01:36 AM   #13
yazz
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Another Phase Gap Error 0341

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdubkilla View Post
same code
Thank you...
yazz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.