need gearbox guro speed sensor problem - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2017, 03:24 PM   #1
ballerg
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Brisbane QLD Australia
Posts: 88
Angry need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

gday ok so iv got a k24 6 speed gearbox out of a 2008 honda accord euro k24a3 same as the tsx gearbox code is sm5m.

the problem im having is that i cant seem to find a vss/speed sensor to fit it iv ordered the tsx one and its to long and broke the tip off the sensor and the accord one is so short so it cant pick up enything were to go from here since i have not seen many people use this gearbox
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20170909_091501.jpg (1.14 MB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170909_091525.jpg (721.5 KB, 13 views)
ballerg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2017, 04:26 PM   #2
dfw-captiva-eg
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 342
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

Does it have any markings or number..maybe the sensor from k20z1 or k20z3 will fit..
dfw-captiva-eg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2017, 04:00 PM   #3
ballerg
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Brisbane QLD Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

the gearbox code is sm5m what markings are you talking about the gearbox serial code?
ballerg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-15-2017, 11:10 AM   #4
katman
Lifetime Member
 
katman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 1,507
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

interesting info on this type of vss......in for the details and resolution of this.
__________________
1 3 5
2 4 6 Zigen
RIP ADAM WEST
-----------------------
FF SQUAD | FFS TechNet | FFS Videos
katman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2017, 11:11 AM   #5
katman
Lifetime Member
 
katman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 1,507
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballerg View Post
the gearbox code is sm5m what markings are you talking about the gearbox serial code?
Sounds like he's asking if the actual original sensor has any kind of number imprinted on it or some kind of unique marking the mfgr might have on it; in comparison to the newer but damaged longer vss.
__________________
1 3 5
2 4 6 Zigen
RIP ADAM WEST
-----------------------
FF SQUAD | FFS TechNet | FFS Videos
katman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2017, 01:38 AM   #6
ballerg
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Brisbane QLD Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

here is the ting i dont know what the original vss for this gearbox is henc why im asking the small sensor i have is from a auto tsx and the long one is from a manual tsx
ballerg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2017, 03:53 AM   #7
drtye
Lifetime Member
 
drtye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 10,281
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

28820-PWR-013 PICK UP ASSY. (MATSUSHITA)

Thats what I found, *should* be correct for what you have.

Can you please count the teeth on the gear that the sensor reads off of, this way we might be able to get you the correct sensor.
From what I can find though, Honda only used 1 part for all the transmissions (manual k series) speed sensor pick up (hall effect).

also funny how the european part is 35 usd but north america is 87
drtye is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-04-2017, 12:59 AM   #8
ballerg
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Brisbane QLD Australia
Posts: 88
Default Re: need gearbox guro speed sensor problem

ok update on this so i just went and got a base model 5 speed to avoid this confusion but the problem im having now is that the car will not start fuel pump will not even prime and main rely does not click on .

iv done some tinkering and found out that pin a2 to the ecu is not getting power at all now so i jumped it with 12v from the battery just to see if it was not my main relay and stuff car started up fine and ran good take it off and there is nothing i took apart the engine harness to see if there was a break in a wire but looks all sweet iv checked all fuses under hood and under dash there all fine as well test light lights up.

so if there was a break some wear in the wire for power to get to the ecu then the ecu should not of got power and started up this is bizzar
ballerg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
gearbox, k24, speed sensor, vss

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.