My k20a Cant Make Power!!! - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2015, 07:51 PM   #1
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Hello guys,

i have done several Mod on my k20a FD2R Jdm on my car but seem like the the engine doesnt make power what like im expecting.
here my mod below

Toda A3 cam
Toda Valve Spring
87mm wiseco piston
BC conrod
skunk2 extractor header
custom 3inch exhaust piping with spoon N1 Muffler,
port Polish head
Custom CAI with 4inch air filter
J37 TB,
Hondata Flashpro

with all this setup i only manage to get 236hp

i wonder where is wrong at my engine setup.. anyone can advice me on this..
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2015, 09:58 PM   #2
LotusElise
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
 
LotusElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoBW
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sil24 View Post
...
...
87mm wiseco piston
...
Hondata Flashpro

with all this setup i only manage to get 236hp
If you don't mind, please answer my questions:
  • What CR did you choose?
  • Was it fully tuned?
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2015, 11:36 PM   #3
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

My CR is 12.5
Yes of cause its fully tune
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 03-02-2015, 11:42 PM   #4
LotusElise
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
 
LotusElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoBW
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Which fuel quality did you feed your engine? Any knock observed while tuning?
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 04:07 AM   #5
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Dont have at all
All in good condition
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 04:07 AM   #6
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

I used RON97
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 04:26 AM   #7
LotusElise
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
 
LotusElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoBW
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Whit RON 97 I would expect 240-255 whp...depends on the Type of Dyno, the specific mesurement uncertainty of it, the wheater conditions, the engine conditions, the passion and tuning time of the tuner, the redline set point, the wellness of the induction, the IAT, ...many many many parameters.

To conclude, the setup for itself is only the basis, to clarify more information is needed:
  • calibration file
  • datalog of last dyno run
  • circumstances of measurement (humidity, temp., altitude, correction method, and so on)
  • pics of installation (exhaust, header, induction, ...)

Sil24, to accelerate the clarification do you have more helpful information to the above?
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 07:08 AM   #8
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

I dont have the datalog measurement as you mention.. Only the dyno graph
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image_1425398903765.jpg (103.7 KB, 83 views)
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 07:57 AM   #9
LotusElise
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
 
LotusElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoBW
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sil24 View Post
I dont have the datalog measurement as you mention.. Only the dyno graph
First, I would kick the tuners a... for that litter dipped torque shape, if this wasn't your explicite wish or only tuned for high cam! A 20 hp/70 Nm lift in between some rpm's ?

May your tune has some more specialities? I would love to see it, may the solution could be found in the mapping
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 08:00 AM   #10
SickSilver_ep3
Lifetime Member
 
SickSilver_ep3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,608
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

ported head could be hurting not helping depends who did it. toda a3 cams i dont have experience with are they tiny like the other toda cams?
__________________
96 midori EK All Motor / Prayoonto Racing
Build thread/ Prayoonto 8.33 @ 183
https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=94487
SickSilver_ep3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 09:34 AM   #11
LotusElise
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
 
LotusElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoBW
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickSilver_ep3 View Post
...toda a3 cams i dont have experience with are they tiny like the other toda cams?
SickSilver_ep3, some info for you. Those cams have a bit bigger lift and a bit more duration (s. TODA website)

Anyway, there are setups with OEM cams, reaching the 250 whp area with the right header/exhaust combination and simple OEM IM and CAI (attention: fuel E85)...would you see in those furthermore a bottleneck?

Of course it could be, as the combination is a matter of fact :
But as Sil24's setup includes a one point higher CR a plus of 6 Nm of nearly everywhere should be seen in the troque line.
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 04:50 PM   #12
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SickSilver_ep3 View Post
ported head could be hurting not helping depends who did it. toda a3 cams i dont have experience with are they tiny like the other toda cams?
What u mean by portingbis not helping? Can u explain it more
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 04:52 PM   #13
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LotusElise View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SickSilver_ep3 View Post
...toda a3 cams i dont have experience with are they tiny like the other toda cams?
SickSilver_ep3, some info for you. Those cams have a bit bigger lift and a bit more duration (s. TODA website)

Anyway, there are setups with OEM cams, reaching the 250 whp area with the right header/exhaust combination and simple OEM IM and CAI (attention: fuel E85)...would you see in those furthermore a bottleneck?

Of course it could be, as the combination is a matter of fact :
But as Sil24's setup includes a one point higher CR a plus of 6 Nm of nearly everywhere should be seen in the troque line.
What is the max lift for the toda A3 cam?
From what u see from the dyno graph what is the degree setup by the tuner?
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 06:05 PM   #14
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Myb i should change my injector?
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 08:46 PM   #15
LotusElise
Arouse the DAMPFHAMMER!
 
LotusElise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SoBW
Posts: 5,639
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sil24 View Post
What is the max lift for the toda A3 cam?
From what u see from the dyno graph what is the degree setup by the tuner?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sil24 View Post
Myb i should change my injector?
If you will send me your calibration I can answer your questions.

For Toda A3 please check the link I added above...

Last edited by LotusElise; 03-03-2015 at 09:13 PM..
LotusElise is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2015, 10:40 PM   #16
doug2507
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 182
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sil24 View Post
What u mean by portingbis not helping? Can u explain it more
If it's the A2 (PRB) head then porting it over stock might be too much for the spec of the engine. A3 cams aren't very aggressive, would fit somewhere in between a drop in and the average stage 2. Doubt they would take advantage of work done on a PRB head.

And not everyone that ports heads does a good job….

A3's with typical bolt on's usually make around 260bhp over here on 98 pump. Maybe 270bhp with decent CR/pistons.

Velocity might be an issue as well. Bigger ports on an already large port head (for 2.0), 4" intake etc….

What intake manifold?

You should ask your mapper if injectors are too small. If they are and he didn't mention duty was maxed then he needs shot and go find another mapper. I'm assuming you aren't still using stock inj's….
doug2507 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2015, 12:17 AM   #17
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Im using FD2r intake rrc
Yes im still using stock injector
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2015, 12:20 AM   #18
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

What u all guys think.. Is are engine serup problem or mapping issue?

Last edited by Sil24; 03-04-2015 at 01:06 AM..
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2015, 01:40 AM   #19
_Mozz_
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Algarve - Portugal
Posts: 1,087
Default Re: My k20a Cant Make Power!!!

Firstly I dont know what reading that dyno has.
What does a Stock K20 put down on it?


Assuming all is good with the block, and without knowing the head ( as its been said before, if not done properly could be hurting you), I think the problem is the Tune!

With what you have, and if fuel pump is stock and fuel pressure is not raised, your stock injectors should not be enough for the power you should be making.

That silly Spoon N1 muffler is also not helping. You are running a 76mm exhaust in to a 60mm back box?

I would try a different tuner.


Where are you from Sil24?
__________________
- FN2 - Ultimate Street Stroker Build -

https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=99260

Last edited by _Mozz_; 03-04-2015 at 01:43 AM..
_Mozz_ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2015, 02:12 AM   #20
Sil24
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Mozz_ View Post
Firstly I dont know what reading that dyno has.
What does a Stock K20 put down on it?


Assuming all is good with the block, and without knowing the head ( as its been said before, if not done properly could be hurting you), I think the problem is the Tune!

With what you have, and if fuel pump is stock and fuel pressure is not raised, your stock injectors should not be enough for the power you should be making.

That silly Spoon N1 muffler is also not helping. You are running a 76mm exhaust in to a 60mm back box?

I would try a different tuner.


Where are you from Sil24?
I already tune with 2 tuner so far the result is same not like what im expecting
Yeah im also thinking to change the muffler bit bigger..
My only chance is to change the injector ang hope its will gain some power..
Im from malaysia

Last edited by Sil24; 03-04-2015 at 02:23 AM..
Sil24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
honda civic k20 k24, jdm, k20a, mod, type r

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.