2618, 4032, and 390.0 (OEM) Aluminum Alloy Piston Primer: - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum

Old 07-03-2014, 09:54 AM   #1
nbleak21
K20a.org Basic User

Default 2618, 4032, and 390.0 (OEM) Aluminum Alloy Piston Primer:

2618, 4032, and 390.0 (OEM) Aluminum Alloy Piston Primer:

**Please Note** Although these conclusions are based on extensive research, communication with industry professionals, and advisement from an expert in metallurgy, I am not a piston designer or engineer, and thus everything below should be taken as opinion only.

Aftermarket piston manufacturers proudly boast of the alloys used in their products, typically AA designation 2618 and 4032 alloys. Honda, however, seems to have left us in the dark… For the most part. After consulting with several industry professionals, referring to a few Honda patents, and personally testing/examining an OEM k20a2 piston donated for such purposes (“Thanks!” to Boom07ZX6R) The census concludes that Honda utilizes a 390.0 (or similar) cast alloy.

Given this, I've performed an evaluation of these three alloys for use specifically in K-series engines, based upon principle Physical, Mechanical, and Thermal properties of each alloy. The evaluation was based upon 3 types of performance builds: Normal to mild Naturally Aspirated, High Horsepower Naturally Aspirated, and Forced Induction.

Each alloy has its strengths and weaknesses, and some of those strengths (and compromises) have been found to be more or less suitable to each of the applications listed above. Below are the conclusions deducted from the research performed. (If you would like a copy of the full research paper which goes into more specifics, PM me with your email address, and I’ll gladly send it your way.)

390.0 Alloy: