Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit? - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2014, 01:02 PM   #1
SloEj6
New Member
 
SloEj6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FLA.
Posts: 85
Default Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

I'm just wondering who has used this mount kit. I have had 2 transmission brackets sent to me and neither one line's up on the smaller side bolt. Is it just me or has everyone had the same problem?

Last edited by SloEj6; 07-01-2014 at 06:22 PM..
SloEj6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2014, 01:40 PM   #2
SloEj6
New Member
 
SloEj6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FLA.
Posts: 85
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

SloEj6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2014, 09:41 PM   #3
sleepek24
K20a.org Basic User
 
sleepek24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 225
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

Did you make a typo on the ekk3's? when did they come out with them I haven't seen nothing on the website.

How different are they compared to ekk2's?
__________________
96 Ek Hatch......K24a2-Project Stealth Bomber-............On pause for now.
sleepek24 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-01-2014, 11:05 PM   #4
SloEj6
New Member
 
SloEj6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FLA.
Posts: 85
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

No typo. It's for the k24 transmission with eg subframe. The kit has been out for a while actually.
SloEj6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2014, 05:43 AM   #5
Mr. KDes
P.M.W./A.W.S.
 
Mr. KDes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 94 Gramatan Ave
Posts: 21,518
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

OP, have you tried adjusting the transmission? When I say adjust, I mean move it so that the holes line up with each other. The hole on the bracket from the hole on the trans doesn't look far off.

I know when installed my EKK2's, the bushings were stiff and it required me pushing either the engine or the trans to get the rear bracket to line up.

Sometimes when you have new mounts/bushings you need a good nudge to get them lined.

Other suggestion I can make is try installing the trans bracket first but don't tighten the bolts then try lining up and installing the driver side and pass side mounts and brackets and go from there.
__________________
WestSPEC™
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam West View Post
It LIVEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!
Mr. KDes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2014, 06:14 AM   #6
SloEj6
New Member
 
SloEj6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FLA.
Posts: 85
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

There are no bushings on that bracket. The bracket mounts to the tranny than the actual engine mount bolts on to the top of that bracket. The picture posted is of the first bracket they sent. The second bracket lined up a little better but still took lots of hammering and prying to get the bolts in. I eventually got all 3 in but it was not easy.
SloEj6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2014, 06:32 AM   #7
Mr. KDes
P.M.W./A.W.S.
 
Mr. KDes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 94 Gramatan Ave
Posts: 21,518
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

I understand there are no bushings on the bracket.

What I was getting at is that once the brackets are bolted onto the mount, it can hard to move them due to the stiffness of the bushings.

So you eventually got everything to work?
__________________
WestSPEC™
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam West View Post
It LIVEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!
Mr. KDes is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2014, 06:50 AM   #8
SloEj6
New Member
 
SloEj6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FLA.
Posts: 85
Default Re: Who is using Hasport's ekk3 kit?

The motor is on a cart so for now I won't be putting on the rear bracket. But it looks like it should line up. It took me a while to get that tranny bracket on. I'm sure it would have went on if I just drove the bolts in but I like things to be done right and not cross thread anything.
SloEj6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
k24a2, tsx

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.