IPS cams???????????? - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2006, 05:23 PM   #1
bboy953
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default IPS cams????????????

Hi evryone ,,,I wanna know a lil more about the IPS cams i heard that they are one ove the best and i just want a lil advise from u guys ,i wanna go all motor on my rsx and im planing on geting a K-Pro ecu in may be a month and than i want to step up with some cams and i was wondering what cams should i get ,i want my car to be street driveble ,i wont want my idle to be real messed up ,for rihgt now i have (AEM V2 ,ACT stage2 with the ACT Xact Flywheel , and thats about it ,,,im just want some advise about how should i build my car the right way ,,,,,,,,,,,thanks
bboy953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2006, 05:48 PM   #2
IPS-DC5
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 324
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

I wouldn't worry about cams at the point your at. Look into getting a cold air intake(V2 sucks), K-Pro, then a race header and exhaust.

But yes IPS-K2's are very good street cam.
__________________
Let's go Pens
IPS-DC5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 06:22 PM   #3
05magS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

yea def get cold air intake, raceheader first.... what year RSX do u ahve?
05magS is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-19-2006, 06:29 PM   #4
SKUNK2DC2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 356
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

What kind of CDI for a DC2 Kswap?
SKUNK2DC2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 06:49 PM   #5
bboy953
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPS-DC5
I wouldn't worry about cams at the point your at. Look into getting a cold air intake(V2 sucks), K-Pro, then a race header and exhaust.

But yes IPS-K2's are very good street cam.
oh yah ,,im geting a race header when im geting my k-pro im a wait till i save up enought ,and get the race header and im geting a cut out i dunno if u guys have heard of it im tryin not to fuck with my stock exaust and just get the header and than cutout ,and why sould i get a CAI insted of my V2 whats wrong with the v2.........
bboy953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 06:51 PM   #6
bboy953
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05magS
yea def get cold air intake, raceheader first.... what year RSX do u ahve?
ohh its a 02 Type-S
bboy953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 07:00 PM   #7
bboy953
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

should i upgrade my valverain if im geting those cams?
bboy953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 07:47 PM   #8
2tonedc5
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: bossier city
Posts: 91
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

You can run stock valve train but if you want to take your red line up to 9 g or so you will have to replace it.
2tonedc5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 12:48 AM   #9
wanab-r
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 190
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2tonedc5
You can run stock valve train but if you want to take your red line up to 9 g or so you will have to replace it.
please dont give him the wrong info. You CANNOT run the stock combo given straight from the factory. You can run OEM honda parts, but there is no rsx in the world that comes with the right combo. Your valvesprings are all mixed and matched and depending on what year you have, you will need to pick up a few components. If you just drop IPS cams into your car as is, it wont be pretty.
wanab-r is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 12:52 AM   #10
wanab-r
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 190
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

here is the real info. Contact Ron if you have any more questions. he is the man, and is willing to answer any questions. good luck

OEM Honda valve train part numbers (required combo, not included - this specific combination does not come pre-installed from the Honda factory. Customers must determine what components they already have in their engine, then supplement by ordering what is needed from their local Honda/Acura dealership):

Dished retainer - 14765-PRB-A01
Yellow outer spring - 14761-PCX-003
Red inner spring - 14752-PRB-A01
Max safe rpm: 8500rpm

Optionally, Eibach EVS P/N 20411.216 has been certified.

Recommended for convenience, availability and more headroom to grow as you build the motor. Alternately, if stock bottom end is to be retained - the OEM valvetrain combo is ideally suited.

Eibach spring w/ Ti retainer
install heights & rpm limits:
@ 1.575" outer spring installed height - 9500+
(race only)
@ 1.590" outer spring installed height - 9300
(aggressive street/track) - good life
@ 1.610" outer spring installed height - 9000
longevity comparable to OEM combo, with higher rpm potential
wanab-r is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 03:11 AM   #11
IPS-DC5
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 324
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboy953
oh yah ,,im geting a race header when im geting my k-pro im a wait till i save up enought ,and get the race header and im geting a cut out i dunno if u guys have heard of it im tryin not to fuck with my stock exaust and just get the header and than cutout ,and why sould i get a CAI insted of my V2 whats wrong with the v2.........
The cutout might not be a very good idea, you will get a real lean a/f ratio when you use it. But there have been some ideas about using the nitious control for this. You just need to get K-Pro and then some experience with it. Here's a link to a recent thread about cutouts; https://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread...ghlight=cutout

The V2 is a short ram intake which sucks hot air from the engine bay. If you switch to a cai when you get kpro you'll see the fuel value difference between them in your calibration. I had the V2 then swich to a cai, and the only good thing about the V2 is it sounded bad ass.
__________________
Let's go Pens
IPS-DC5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 03:13 AM   #12
signalpuke
K20a.org Master User
 
signalpuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,294,967,295
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by bboy953
oh yah ,,im geting a cut out i dunno if u guys have heard of it im tryin not to fuck with my stock exaust and just get the header and than cutout ,and why sould i get a CAI insted of my V2 whats wrong with the v2.........
I have heard some bad stuff about cut outs.............
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
New to the K-Series? ☆★☆★ DIY and FAQ ★☆★☆ <------- CLICK THE LINK!
Otatsiihtaissiiststakio piksi makamo ta psswia
signalpuke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 08:58 AM   #13
krystar
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

u need to properly use the cutout.

if you open the cutout, your AF will be approx 1 point leaner than with the cutout closed. you need to add fuel to compensate. one way to do this is with kpro nitrous panel. once you have the cutout open, then flip the nitrous arm switch and have kpro add in more fuel (you will have to play with how much more) to compensate for the leaner condition.
__________________
RSX-S. Comptech SC 9psi. KPRO. Carputer
krystar is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 09:08 AM   #14
Mike
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tempe, Az
Posts: 756
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by krystar
u need to properly use the cutout.

if you open the cutout, your AF will be approx 1 point leaner than with the cutout closed. you need to add fuel to compensate. one way to do this is with kpro nitrous panel. once you have the cutout open, then flip the nitrous arm switch and have kpro add in more fuel (you will have to play with how much more) to compensate for the leaner condition.
Having two maps and just uploading the correct one for what you are doing is fine too. I have a map with exhaust and a map with open header.
__________________
- Mike
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 11:23 AM   #15
2tonedc5
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: bossier city
Posts: 91
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

i meant oem honda parts my bad wasnt thinking
2tonedc5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 03:08 PM   #16
bboy953
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

thanks evrybody for the info ,,,from what i saw im not going to be using the cutout but i dont want to change my whole exaust cuz i dont want cops fuckin with me ,but thanks evryone for the info ,if someone got something to add it would be kool....Thanks
-Mike-
bboy953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 08:22 PM   #17
dohcturtle
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 204
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

K2's=
dohcturtle is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2006, 02:00 PM   #18
bboy953
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

how much are the k2's ???
bboy953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2006, 02:03 PM   #19
k20ahondas
K20a.org Advanced User
 
k20ahondas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NOVA
Posts: 986
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Let me know if anyone interested in IPS products.
__________________
Norris Prayoonto
PrayoontoRacing.com the biggest and baddest Honda Drag Racing Team around.
k20ahondas is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-21-2006, 02:27 PM   #20
IPS-DC5
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA
Posts: 324
Default Re: IPS cams????????????

Quote:
Originally Posted by k20ahondas
Let me know if anyone interested in IPS products.
Hey Norris are you going to run IPS cams this season?
__________________
Let's go Pens
IPS-DC5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
combo, ips, oem, retainer, spec, spring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.