how to k swap honda fit - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
breadman
Lifetime Member
 
breadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: fitville
Posts: 4,504
Default how to k swap honda fit

ive seen alot of same questions being asked so i thought id start a thread that could be more informative about what needs to be done.

this is an article that will answer most all your questions, anyone looking at doing a k swap fit should read this first
http://www.modified.com/tech/0709_sc...t/viewall.html

there are two sticky at the top of the fit forum section.

i will periodically update this as new info is avilable, anyone that would like to add any tips about there experience doing the swap and things that arent metioned iam sure will help others.

lets keep this free of bumps, non-related material so members dont have to go there 20 pages to find answers.
__________________
http://donkeypowerinjection.com/
www.karcepts.com
http://afhkparts.com/
first k swap fit in north carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMURACN View Post
she either supports the car... or she walks... those are the rules damn it!
breadman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2011, 02:13 PM   #2
t.schultz
K20A.org Sponsor
 
t.schultz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hybridracing.com
Posts: 477
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

I just had a long conversation with JCrimson, who is currently building a Fit, about mounts. Going by Hasports install guide you will use some of the OEM mounts components. We have the OEM replacements mounts to compensate for the OEM weak mounts. So you can get these along with the Hasport mount kit.

We offer the OEM replacement mounts, Race harness, cables, shifter box, fuel rail (w disconnect), and misc fuel components for that car. I am looking forward to more K-swapped Fit's.

-Tim
__________________
Join us on facebook
Need help with your K-swap or need a parts list? Shoot us an email or give us a call:
sales@hybrid-racing.com 225.755.8211
t.schultz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2011, 04:39 PM   #3
breadman
Lifetime Member
 
breadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: fitville
Posts: 4,504
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Quote:
Originally Posted by t.schultz View Post
I just had a long conversation with JCrimson, who is currently building a Fit, about mounts. Going by Hasports install guide you will use some of the OEM mounts components. We have the OEM replacements mounts to compensate for the OEM weak mounts. So you can get these along with the Hasport mount kit.

We offer the OEM replacement mounts, Race harness, cables, shifter box, fuel rail (w disconnect), and misc fuel components for that car. I am looking forward to more K-swapped Fit's.

-Tim
this is very true, when i first did my swap i used the factory mounts and the motor would rock back and forth way to much, my exhaust piping would hit the steering rack and under the car from all the extra movement, i now have 85a mounts which do make for some in cabin vibration but not much, i would atleast recommend no less than 65a, thanks tim
__________________
http://donkeypowerinjection.com/
www.karcepts.com
http://afhkparts.com/
first k swap fit in north carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMURACN View Post
she either supports the car... or she walks... those are the rules damn it!
breadman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2011, 01:41 PM   #4
felixy69
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 204
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Thx this is going to be a great thread !
There are few fit (GD) with kswap already in north america in a USDM fit
So there are lots of info that have already been discovered
Feel free to askaway with ur questions !!

I personally have a Auto USDM fit(GD) that I converted with MT k20a with turbo!
I can tell u auto to MT swap in a fit is very difficult..... The entire frame is different so most of the parts made for kswap will not work as they are design only for MT chassis

here was my build thread on fitfreak, which has detailed pics covering alll aspect of the build
http://www.fitfreak.net/forums/fit-p...ld-thread.html
__________________
all item sold as is.
pic are the exact item.
felixy69 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 09:04 AM   #5
JCrimson
K20a.org Basic User
 
JCrimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Baby!
Posts: 165
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

can someone shed some light on how in the hell am i supposed to enable or wire my electronic power steering? please.
JCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 03:55 PM   #6
breadman
Lifetime Member
 
breadman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: fitville
Posts: 4,504
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCrimson View Post
can someone shed some light on how in the hell am i supposed to enable or wire my electronic power steering? please.
i would contact felix, i have mine done the dbw way so its totally different then yours, he ran into the same problem and had to use either the stock ecu or pcm for that to work, or shoot brian at hasport a email and he would be able to give you some insight on this
__________________
http://donkeypowerinjection.com/
www.karcepts.com
http://afhkparts.com/
first k swap fit in north carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMURACN View Post
she either supports the car... or she walks... those are the rules damn it!
breadman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 06:25 AM   #7
JCrimson
K20a.org Basic User
 
JCrimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Baby!
Posts: 165
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Quote:
Originally Posted by breadman View Post
i would contact felix, i have mine done the dbw way so its totally different then yours, he ran into the same problem and had to use either the stock ecu or pcm for that to work, or shoot brian at hasport a email and he would be able to give you some insight on this
I've tried asking Felix, He paid someone to do it all. I asked for atleast some pictures.. waiting.
JCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 10:08 AM   #8
Tinyvan
K20a.org Basic User
 
Tinyvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 140
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Im not 100% sure but from what I remember my shop telling me they said it sounds like you just plug it in like normal and it should work.
__________________
First K Fit in MN
225whp/180tq
Tinyvan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 10:30 AM   #9
JCrimson
K20a.org Basic User
 
JCrimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Baby!
Posts: 165
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinyvan View Post
Im not 100% sure but from what I remember my shop telling me they said it sounds like you just plug it in like normal and it should work.
hmmm, well i didnt unplug any of it, I really have no clue what powers it thought.
JCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 11:37 AM   #10
Tinyvan
K20a.org Basic User
 
Tinyvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 140
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

Im in the same boat as Felix as I had a shop do my swap as well. I dont know this set up as well as you do, but I did go take some pics, at least the best I could. Its just a single harness that comes off the unit then goes up the firewall. I fallowed it the best I could but I lose it behind the brake booster and driver side shock tower. Hope these pics help you a little bit.






^the big harness goes up behind the driver side tower, the smaller offshoot goes to the battery and fuse box
__________________
First K Fit in MN
225whp/180tq
Tinyvan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 12:15 PM   #11
JCrimson
K20a.org Basic User
 
JCrimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Baby!
Posts: 165
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

hey thanks man! Im on the same page with you too. I have it all plugged up oem but somewhere someone mentioned you have to jump the signal from the L15A ecu to power it on and control it...

are you using 1 ecu or 2? I am just using kPRo.. if you are just using 1 ecu, then there is a way they did it for you and thats what i really what to know. Mine is all plugged up but something is not telling it to turn on like it should.
JCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 12:20 PM   #12
Tinyvan
K20a.org Basic User
 
Tinyvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 140
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

I believe im just using the haltech ecu
__________________
First K Fit in MN
225whp/180tq
Tinyvan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 12:24 PM   #13
JCrimson
K20a.org Basic User
 
JCrimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Baby!
Posts: 165
Default Re: how to k swap honda fit

hmmm, i will double check all connections this weekend.
JCrimson is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.