K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block?? - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2011, 09:30 PM   #1
filipinop1405
K20a.org Basic User
 
filipinop1405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fayetteville/Fort Bragg, NC; Currently Recruiting in Tulsa, OK
Posts: 257
Default K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

My main question is whether or not the TSX(k24a2) head will just bolt up to a CRV(k24a1) block and work? any modifications? I plan to use either an RBC IM or RRC IM along with kpro with this. I just want to make sure that there isn't anything extra that I need or need to do before I start looking for one (while I save up money for it).

If I found a bare TSX head,with it being similar to the K20a2 head, would the k20a2 valve train work in it (TSX head).

I've searched the following but didn't see anything....
diy|faq ☆★☆★☆★☆★ diy|faq ★☆★☆★☆★☆ diy|faq
k24 block with k20a2 head It's talking about the TSX motor not the CRV motor.

Thanks!!
filipinop1405 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2011, 09:32 PM   #2
1320WhtRex
K20a.org Bounty Hunter
 
1320WhtRex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Coast...
Posts: 25,532
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Yes it will work just fine. You can use it. If you're getting the head for a pretty good price, go for it..
__________________
IF YOUR FS THREAD IS
NOT IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE RULES IN THE LINK BELOW, I WILL LOCK AND/OR DELETE THE THREAD WITHOUT NOTIFICATION. THANKS

FOR SALE RULES


10.1@148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murrdog9000 View Post
...K series turbo.... not for the cheap
Vouches and Feedback Thread ,
My EF Kswap Turbo Build Thread
R.I.P. Jose Rodriguez, Robert Mercado Jr.... We'll miss you forever... Gone but not forgotten
1320WhtRex is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2011, 07:05 AM   #3
filipinop1405
K20a.org Basic User
 
filipinop1405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fayetteville/Fort Bragg, NC; Currently Recruiting in Tulsa, OK
Posts: 257
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1320WhtRex View Post
Yes it will work just fine. You can use it. If you're getting the head for a pretty good price, go for it..
So there isnt any modifications that needs to be done? No ports that have to be welded? What about the IM RBC and RRC, any mods that I would have to do to them to get them to fit? Thanks for your response!
filipinop1405 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
CTR*mAr
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 161
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Bump I am also curious if their is less to do if your puttin a k24a2 he's on a k24a1 rather then a k20
CTR*mAr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2012, 03:18 PM   #5
CTR*mAr
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 161
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Head ^^*
CTR*mAr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2012, 12:05 AM   #6
vtecjj
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 72
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Quote:
Originally Posted by filipinop1405 View Post
So there isnt any modifications that needs to be done? No ports that have to be welded? What about the IM RBC and RRC, any mods that I would have to do to them to get them to fit? Thanks for your response!
No, the rbc and rrc will bold DIRECTLY onto the K24a2 head. No modifications at all. IF you were to use the K20a2 head, you would then need to cut off the water port on the rbc and/or rrc.

On one of my race engines, I have a K24a2 head with a RRC manifold-straight bolt on.
__________________
Check out: www.facebook.com/merismotorsports for race reports and featured products
JMeris: NASA HPD 2011 Honda Challenge H1 National Champion, NASA HPD 2010 Honda Challenge H2 National Champion------Honda Challenge's 1st Back-to-Back, 2-class National Champion
vtecjj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2012, 05:56 AM   #7
HMOOB
New Member
 
HMOOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

i have a question to add to this. are there any compression differences when using a k20a2 head on a k24 block rather than the k24a2 head on a k24 block? reason is because i saw some pistons made specifically for a k24 and some for k20/k24 engine.
HMOOB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2012, 06:24 AM   #8
signalpuke
Keep walking...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14,265,425
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

The head cc will be very close to the same size.

The K20 pistons are spec'd for the 86mm crank, and require a much larger dome to attain the higher compression ratio.

So, if you put 88mm K20 12.5:1 pistons in a K24, it would shoot the compression up towards 14:1. Understand?
__________________

New to the K-Series? ☆★☆★ DIY and FAQ ★☆★☆ <------- CLICK THE LINK!
Otatsiihtaissiiststakio piksi makamo ta psswia
signalpuke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2012, 05:12 PM   #9
HMOOB
New Member
 
HMOOB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

what if for example: wiseco have a set of 11.1 pistons for a k24 and i wanna use that on a k20/k24 build, will the compression go down since ill be using a k20 head instead of a full k24 or will it only go down if i use on a full k20 engine? thats where im lost.
HMOOB is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2013, 10:11 AM   #10
10dsbrennan
K20a.org Basic User
 
10dsbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 282
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

I recently bought a k24a2 head complete off of eBay for a very good price. I am in touch with King Motorsports on this build and Mike informed me that my K24a2 head is crap compared to the K20a2 in terms of flow.

My question is, with the price I paid for the TSX head-- extremely cheap-- is it even worth it for me to go over to a complete type-s head and have that inspected and have imperfections all machined out? I'm aiming for 250 whp for a reliable daily.
10dsbrennan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2013, 10:15 AM   #11
brakaT
K20a.org Master User
 
brakaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: 345
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10dsbrennan View Post
I recently bought a k24a2 head complete off of eBay for a very good price. I am in touch with King Motorsports on this build and Mike informed me that my K24a2 head is crap compared to the K20a2 in terms of flow.

My question is, with the price I paid for the TSX head-- extremely cheap-- is it even worth it for me to go over to a complete type-s head and have that inspected and have imperfections all machined out? I'm aiming for 250 whp for a reliable daily.
If you want to use the TSX head, hit up 4 piston for their PRO TSX CNC head, perfect for street motors

In stock form, the TSX head is a waste of time and the K20A2/K20Z1/K20Z3 head will be a lot more beneficial.

What are the rest of your motor specs?
__________________
My DC5R - love/hate relationship.
FS thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166697
brakaT is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2013, 10:19 AM   #12
10dsbrennan
K20a.org Basic User
 
10dsbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 282
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Quote:
Originally Posted by brakaT View Post
If you want to use the TSX head, hit up 4 piston for their PRO TSX CNC head, perfect for street motors

In stock form, the TSX head is a waste of time and the K20A2/K20Z1/K20Z3 head will be a lot more beneficial.

What are the rest of your motor specs?
For now, K24a1 block, K24a1 crank, and K24a2 head. That's it. I bought the head because it had real VTEC and because it was cheap. My next step was going to be getting the block/head/crank inspected and machined.
10dsbrennan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2013, 03:54 PM   #13
signalpuke
Keep walking...
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14,265,425
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

You can hit 250whp no problem, use what you have and spend that money on other stuff like cams.
__________________

New to the K-Series? ☆★☆★ DIY and FAQ ★☆★☆ <------- CLICK THE LINK!
Otatsiihtaissiiststakio piksi makamo ta psswia
signalpuke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2013, 04:04 PM   #14
10dsbrennan
K20a.org Basic User
 
10dsbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 282
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Yeah, that's what I was thinking. If I can save a couple extra pennies by keeping the k24a2 head that'd be good.
10dsbrennan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2013, 08:21 AM   #15
AWH
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 419
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

For a simple build, "crap" is an exaggeration.

Here's a good thread about the difference between the best OE head (RSP) and the K24A2 head. First page has a dyno compare. A K20A2 is somewhere in between (closer to the RSP).

http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=107797

And if you look through the stickied DIY FAQ, you'll find a nice flow chart that Luke @ 4Piston ("Drag") put up with all the OE heads.
__________________
Track/AutoX: 89 CRX K24, New track build ==> K-swapped NB Miata
AWH is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2013, 09:39 AM   #16
10dsbrennan
K20a.org Basic User
 
10dsbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 282
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

I think I'm going to pull the trigger one next paycheck
__________________
10dsbrennan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2014, 07:47 PM   #17
10dsbrennan
K20a.org Basic User
 
10dsbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 282
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Anybody know how long they'll be holding my head at JFK International?

It's shipping from Canada...any experience with international shipments?

I'm pretty sure they do customs there....it's been on hold for a couple of days.
__________________
10dsbrennan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 06:21 AM   #18
johnkilo
K20a.org Basic User
 
johnkilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 244
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10dsbrennan View Post
Anybody know how long they'll be holding my head at JFK International?

It's shipping from Canada...any experience with international shipments?

I'm pretty sure they do customs there....it's been on hold for a couple of days.
I'm assuming you've gotten it by now, but I had a laptop shipped to me from Vancouver (I'm in Connecticut) and customs had it for over a week.
__________________
Real Hondas
johnkilo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 07:13 AM   #19
10dsbrennan
K20a.org Basic User
 
10dsbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 282
Default Re: K24a2 head or K20a2 head on K24a1 Block??

Yeah bro i got it. they bent a damn stud on my head though!!! >

its all good though...its a 3 dollar replacement from Honda to fix it.
__________________
10dsbrennan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.