S2000 Cluster in Civic EK. - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2009, 11:04 PM   #1
wanted ek9
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 126
Default S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Hye all.. first of all i would like to wish Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of u guys. Sorry for taking a few minutes of your time.

Here's the problem. I'm actually doing my research on how to swap an S2000 cluster into my Civic EK. Yes, I know there's a lot of information about this swap on the internet and i might be the 1001th people to ask about this swap.

I've gone through so many post until i get myself confused. Some people say A while the other say B. So, to make it easy for all of us, could anyone of u who has done this swap with your own hands bring up the way of how to do it right. Let's say if u guys follow the exact instructions given from any of the website in the internet, do post the link here. If there's any faulty on the information, please do a correction before u post it here.

Thanks for all of the guys involved in this thread. I believe that it would be much easier and faster this way even for anyone who doesn't know much about wires.

Thanks u.
wanted ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2009, 11:01 AM   #2
Slociviccoupe
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

ap1 00-03 or ap2 04-06 or the newer clusters with stability control.

an ap1 has 3 connectors on the back while an ap2 has 2.
pins and wire colors don't always match up. there are some power wires that have to be connected together as well as grounds as an ek doesn't have the same amount of wires that the s2k does. there are also a lot of pins that will not be used as the s2k cluster has electric power steering, and a few more things.

start off by saying what year ek you have 96-98 or 99-00, what cluster you want to put in, and if its a k swap or not.
Slociviccoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 11:44 AM   #3
wanted ek9
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Let's start with my 96-98 Civic EK. Actually, I'm looking forward to have a very nice thread about this swap. Let's not mess it up with so many write-ups on how to do the swap right.

I've gone through a few write-ups, print it out and made a comparison. I started to get confused when it's not exactly the same. I mean, both of the title stated it was for the same model, but there is a difference. If I'm not mistaken, the color of the wires might not always be the same, but the connector pinouts are usually similar. I'm not trying to say that any of the write-ups are wrong. I don't even know the real way to do it. And if I'm wrong, please correct me.

So let's clear things up in this thread. I'm calling anyone who has done this swap by himself to share or post a true,clear and easy-to-follow write-ups/instructions. If any of u succeed by following any of the write-up that was already on the internet, post the link here. I think it's better to just have one write-up for each model to avoid from getting confuse. If any of u guys notice a fault, do let us know. This is what a forum does isn't it?

I really hope this thread will help many people. If u can do it, help us who didn't know but really wants to do the same thing. I'm sorry if there's a mistake in my English. By the way, Merry Christmas. Have a very good week. Remember, don't drink and drive.
wanted ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 05:01 PM   #4
Slociviccoupe
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

ive done it on an eg, and an ek.
i need to know what cluster you plan on swapping and what motor you have. if its a k then your speedo will work and need no speed healer.
Slociviccoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 05:55 PM   #5
845trev
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

i needed 2 kno the same thing i have a 97 civic ex with a b series motor and a 2000 s2000 cluster
845trev is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 09:10 PM   #6
wanted ek9
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Sorry guys.. Wow, many good people around here that are willing to help. I don't see why I can't do the swap. I plan to do a AP1 S2000 cluster into a 96-00 Civic EK with B-Series motor in it.. Hope any of u can post a write-up. Thanks guys..
wanted ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 09:15 PM   #7
Slociviccoupe
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

ill dig around in my papers for the pinouts and the conversion. you will need a speed healer or a converter box for the speed sensor and engine temp to work.
everything else is just cut and dry matching functions.
Slociviccoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 09:26 PM   #8
wanted ek9
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Yeah.. from all the write-ups that already on the internet says i will need a speedohealer v4 and ect converter to make the speedo and temp gauge works. I just need to have a complete and easy-to-follow write-up on the pinouts. If u have it, please post it here. Thanks mate..
wanted ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2009, 09:53 PM   #9
chrish5142
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 364
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

how abt for a 99-00 ek..with a k20 and a ap1 cluster
chrish5142 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2009, 05:03 AM   #10
battle951sedan
New Member
 
battle951sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 37
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrish5142 View Post
how abt for a 99-00 ek..with a k20 and a ap1 cluster
im in d same boat. and i have a z1. all i know is that my motor has the same vss signal as the s2ks. other than that im totally clueless
__________________
|RacelineUSA|MAKSPEED|951|
battle951sedan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2009, 05:45 AM   #11
Slociviccoupe
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

its because a s2k has a high frequency vss. as does the z1 and newer k series.
the cluster will read the signal. all other vss are low frequency. about half the number of pulses as a high frequency one.
Slociviccoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2009, 08:28 PM   #12
StReTcH203
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: CT (203)
Posts: 172
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Quote:
Originally Posted by battle951sedan View Post
im in d same boat. and i have a z1. all i know is that my motor has the same vss signal as the s2ks. other than that im totally clueless
from personal experience your all set all u need is (modifry)ect sensor and disable vss on your kpro..z1 has same freq. as s2k
StReTcH203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2009, 08:38 PM   #13
davidk20ek4
K20a.org Master User
 
davidk20ek4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: washington
Posts: 2,173
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

i have a 96 ek hatch with a k20 type s ....and i am wanting to put the s2k cluster in but am not sure what i will need or what cluster (year) will be the best one....please chime in.......thanks for the help k20a.org
__________________
EVERYTHING WE DO .... WE DO IT BIG.....K-SQUAD
davidk20ek4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2009, 10:24 PM   #14
wanted ek9
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

anyone with the write-ups of the swap? which we can follow the pinouts one by one?
wanted ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2009, 01:35 PM   #15
Slociviccoupe
K20a.org Master User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,117
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

workin on it. don't want to give wrong info and someone fry their cluster.
Slociviccoupe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2009, 02:30 PM   #16
wanted ek9
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

Thanks.. no rush..
wanted ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2009, 11:10 AM   #17
eg6k20a2
K20a.org Advanced User
 
eg6k20a2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: sioux falls,sd
Posts: 643
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

What about a 91 crx hf with and 04 type s motor? What cluster would be simpler to use and would i have to get that vss converter? Oh and im using the hybrid conversion harness and it has a purple wire labeled vss. and a 12v on the harness. thanx
__________________
My build thread http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=74036
eg6k20a2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2010, 11:19 AM   #18
eg6k20a2
K20a.org Advanced User
 
eg6k20a2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: sioux falls,sd
Posts: 643
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

anyone know about this?
__________________
My build thread http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=74036
eg6k20a2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2010, 04:28 PM   #19
davidk20ek4
K20a.org Master User
 
davidk20ek4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: washington
Posts: 2,173
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

anybody got any word on this?
__________________
EVERYTHING WE DO .... WE DO IT BIG.....K-SQUAD
davidk20ek4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2010, 07:43 AM   #20
98luder
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 387
Default Re: S2000 Cluster in Civic EK.

hey guys yea i just did this swap, i don't contribute much but i thought i'd try this time

97 civic, ap2 cluster, dseries engine (soon to be bseries)
let me know if you have any questions

i did use the other guys eg s2000 cluster thread that was in stickied to cross reference the info i did have.

needed a speedo healer
needed the modifry ect signal convertor
and i needed a 25ohm resistor for the fuel gauge signal. The gauge still doesn't read right, at half tank reads good, low reads good. but at full tank it only reads 3/4 on the ap2 cluster. Not sure how to fix this?

oh if you have any questions feel free to pm me or we can discuss it in this thread to maybe help others as well

the hard part, now i gotta jimmy rig it to get it mounted up
98luder is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.