Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned) - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2013, 11:30 AM   #1
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Soooo i'm driving down the street normally and all of a sudden the car jerks for like a split second. Immediately after the check engine light goes on. Now every time i try to go over 4k rpm it just bounces off the 4k line (sounds like a 2-step). Unfortunately i don't have access to a laptop and don't know when i will so i figured i'd come on here and ask you guys what you think. Btw, ever since i installed the sensor the check engine light has come on a couple times intermittently then turned off. And yes t has been manually calibrated correctly.

Or i'm wondering if it could be something else...
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-02-2013, 11:42 AM   #2
Clipsejr
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Clipsejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 580
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Sounds like the ecu went into limp mode. I had this issue before and it ended up being my spool valve assembly(vtec sensor on the back of the head). Best option though is to see what code it's throwing with a scanner if no laptop.
Clipsejr is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2013, 12:01 PM   #3
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Interesting. Yup as soon as i can get to a scanner or laptop i'll be able to truly diagnose it. Thanks for the info.
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2013, 12:23 PM   #4
timot_one
Tim doesn't give a shit.
 
timot_one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 5,446
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipsejr View Post
Sounds like the ecu went into limp mode. I had this issue before and it ended up being my spool valve assembly(vtec sensor on the back of the head). Best option though is to see what code it's throwing with a scanner if no laptop.
I had the exact same symptoms a few years back. I replaced the VTEC solenoid on the back of the head an it cleared it up.

I have had a spotty TPS before and it didn't cause problems like you described.
__________________
Tim

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creamy Lee View Post
I would totally eat her ass
timot_one is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2013, 01:17 PM   #5
Clipsejr
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Clipsejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 580
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Quote:
Originally Posted by timot_one View Post
I had the exact same symptoms a few years back. I replaced the VTEC solenoid on the back of the head an it cleared it up.

I have had a spotty TPS before and it didn't cause problems like you described.
Yeah this is what made me go out and buy a cheap scanner to keep in my car. Lambo if you get around to scanning it here is the code I was throwing: P1259
Clipsejr is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2013, 05:38 PM   #6
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Thanks guys! Time to get a new vtec solenoid. Anyone know the roundabout cost?
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2013, 05:47 PM   #7
CAFROG
K20a.org Master User
 
CAFROG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 2,029
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

VTEC spool assembly (back of the head) is about $140-145 online ($190-195 at dealership). It's a few parts and o-ring(s) all together.

Just for info....VTEC oil Pressure is about $90-95 ($125 at dealership)
__________________
My 92 Civic Si (owned it since '96) Currently making it a K20-R MuFFsTanK KiLLa

http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=96809
CAFROG is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 03:56 PM   #8
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

OK, so update. The code is "Daughter Board Communication Error (Battery voltage low when cranking)". Now that i think of it, after we installed the k-tuned TPS i did get a check engine light but it kinda came on then went right off. I thought we had it nailed down as far as manually adjusting it but maybe not? Now at WOT it's saying 105%. Not sure if that would cause a problem or not. A lot of people were saying the battery could be the issue but i have no problem starting the car...however they did say the problem went away. Others were saying bad grounds. I'm all ears guys...

Cliffs on problem:

1. Will drive around for a few minutes.
2. Car will hesitate for a split second and the CEL comes on for a split second
3. A few minutes later the CEL comes on permanently and i can't rev past 4k rpm.
4. I also feel like i'm getting HORRIBLE gas mileage which is most likely k-pro going into limp mode.
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.

Last edited by Lambo123; 04-03-2013 at 03:59 PM..
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 05:23 PM   #9
gotslicks
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 221
Default

Kpro? Did you calibrate tps with or without kpro?
__________________
2001 insight k24/k20 3" exhaust w/muffler and catalytic convertor, full interior street car..10.7@126.79 2013 Ifo overall points champ,Ifo AMs&amp points ne 2013
gotslicks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 05:52 PM   #10
katman
Lifetime Member
 
katman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

got another TPS you can try? oem tps perhaps?

personally, I've had two v2 ktuned tps go bad on me in the last year.
same throttle chugging symptoms as you're describing. I even have a video of it going out on me mid-race lol.
I've gone back to their trusty and super reliable v1 tps that i've kept as a backup, and its still working strong like bull, for the few years I've had it.

I'm sure they'll warranty your TPS if you find it is faulty, hit up Mike!
__________________
1 3 5
2 4 6 Zigen
RIP ADAM WEST
-----------------------
FF SQUAD | FFS TechNet | FFS Videos

Last edited by katman; 04-03-2013 at 05:54 PM..
katman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 05:11 AM   #11
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,490
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

The "daughter board communication error" is likely the problem.
When a hard CEL comes up the ecu goes into to limp mode.
This limits revs to 4K only.
I have fixed this CEL on 2 cars in the last couple years. One car needed thicker cable running to the battery that was relocated to the trunk. The other car had an incorrectly wired charge harness. Both issues caused low battery voltage which tripped the code.

We have had very few failures with our V2 TPS sensors.
However, not everything is perfect.
If you are able to diagnose the TPS as an issue please LMK.
We have a warranty if needed.

When setting the TPS focus on the closed value more so than the WOT value.
Different throttle cables and brackets plus how they are adjusted can change the full open value a little bit.

Keep me posted on this.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html


Last edited by Mike@K-Tuned; 04-04-2013 at 05:23 AM..
Mike@K-Tuned is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 08:53 AM   #12
shimakid12
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 99
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Daughter board communication error is related to the kpro seeing a low battery voltage reading. What size is your battery, and is it in the stock location? If relocated or using a small light weight battery, like an odyssey for example, it may not have enough juice to keep the system above 14ish volts constantly while running. Also, a bad alternator could cause this code to be thrown.

I had this issue with the car I'm building. I was trying to run a lightweight battery and it just wasn't strong enough. Changed it out for a parts store replacement battery and so far so good.

Here's what Hondata has to say about it:

http://www.hondata.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4877

Hope you get it fixed.
shimakid12 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 10:11 AM   #13
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

The battery is about a year old. It's a diehard battery and the cables going on it are thick enough. Keep in mind i drive this car EVERY day. Now like i said it wasn't until right after we installed it then fine tuned the tps that the check engine light kicked on then went off. The grounds are fine. Basically my point is i wasn't having any issues until i installed the tps sensor. The only reason i installed it was because my old oem tps was only reading 88% at WOT so i just decided to replace it but the car ran perfectly fine. I actually do have a cheap CMS ebay tps sensor i'm going to try and see if it works. I just need to get a hold of a multimeter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotslicks View Post
Kpro? Did you calibrate tps with or without kpro?
Without K-Pro.
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2013, 12:05 PM   #14
shimakid12
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 99
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

I hear you. It is odd, but it could possibly be a coincidence. The daughter board error should only come on if the voltage has dropped below a certain threshold either while starting or running. If the battery is fine, the alternator could be on it's way out. Throwing this code, because of low voltage, will put the car in limp mode and make it run how you have described.

Your oem TPS reading 88% wide open may have not been an issue with the TPS. Did you try to rescale the oem TPS before swapping it out? If the closed throttle voltage read .5ish volts, and kpro is reading 0% TPS off the throttle, then it may be the throttle cable/bracket/ cable to peddle tightness that wasn't allowing it to go all the way up to 100% with the peddle floored. This is something I've seen a ton of times where full throttle just will not open the throttle body all the way due to cable configurations, thus keeping the TPS from seeing 100%. I would maybe try putting the OEM tps back on and re-calibrating it.

Last edited by shimakid12; 04-04-2013 at 12:08 PM..
shimakid12 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 03:35 PM   #15
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shimakid12 View Post
I hear you. It is odd, but it could possibly be a coincidence. The daughter board error should only come on if the voltage has dropped below a certain threshold either while starting or running. If the battery is fine, the alternator could be on it's way out. Throwing this code, because of low voltage, will put the car in limp mode and make it run how you have described.

Your oem TPS reading 88% wide open may have not been an issue with the TPS. Did you try to rescale the oem TPS before swapping it out? If the closed throttle voltage read .5ish volts, and kpro is reading 0% TPS off the throttle, then it may be the throttle cable/bracket/ cable to peddle tightness that wasn't allowing it to go all the way up to 100% with the peddle floored. This is something I've seen a ton of times where full throttle just will not open the throttle body all the way due to cable configurations, thus keeping the TPS from seeing 100%. I would maybe try putting the OEM tps back on and re-calibrating it.
Trust me i looked everywhere for the original tps but couldn't find it anywhere. I think it accidentally got thrown away. Boy do i wish i had it now. I believe my tuner tried re-calibrating it when the car was on the dyno but it was on it's way out plain and simple. So right now here's what it does:

1. If i start the car, drive around, and keep it under for 4k rpm's the CEL will never come on. It will however jerk/hesitate for like a second every few minutes.

2. If i DO go over 4k rpm's the car will do the same thing (jerk/hesitate every few minutes for a second) then the CEL will permanently come on.

I'm almost positive it's the TPS sensor at this point. The battery, grounds, vtec solenoid, vtc actuator, etc etc etc...i never had problems with any of these. Not until we installed the TPS. I have a cheap CMS ebay tps sensor and i'm gonna install that for now as soon as i get bolts that will fit since i lost the original tps bolts. I'll keep everyone updated. I'm real curious to open up the K-Tuned unit and see what it looks like inside...
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 04:01 PM   #16
crip
Lifetime Member
 
crip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.Florida
Posts: 2,689
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

dont open it, let them warranty it out if its at fault. grab you a cheap harbor freight multi meter and throw the cms tps on. it will work good enough to let you know if its a tps issues.
__________________
SOLD TO:iboyma, donsep3, honda_12v, allmotorbubble, Nitro1018, ZAKE, alex_KS, Db2K, shattamac, spoonhacked, richir587, datdude814, FlacoNAEG, michalo187, youhan23, valerio123, 7800rpmlaunch, screech, miaep3, 1320whtrex, asnstyle22, rvf35nc, sictegboi3, 828DC5. BOUGHTFROM: josh2man, kid, ek9-10, stRoKeD, xbigpitax, ohsnapzfingcu, mountainK, ctechone01, jpax, kadamski5140, i-vtec-eg, mo_spec, chefandre, sik20, cjm, mlotz29, yeven_stas, REALDEAL, KDub-ZeroEG, jchetty, 2.4L ef, nine2fivek20, blankyjet TRADED WITH: Acurazor, rsxmatt1985 VOUCHES: josolanes, sik20, flipsx3, noobiemcnooberson, BMFC
crip is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2013, 04:41 PM   #17
shimakid12
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 99
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

It does sound like it could very well be a TPS issue. When you take it over 4k and the CEL comes on, are you able to check and see what CEL you're throwing? Is it still the daughter board connection error? If so, that's a very odd CEL to be thrown by a faulty TPS.

I'm not trying to say you're wrong in any way, so please don't take it that way. I'm just trying to better understand your issue and help if at all possible, since I'm familiar with the daughter board error. The way you've described your situation does sound as though it could be the TPS though.
shimakid12 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 12:13 PM   #18
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Yeah it's still the "daughter board communication error - low voltage battery when cranking". I'm gonna check the grounds one more time then buy a new battery. I'm wondering if i can buy a battery and then just return it? If the battery ends up not being the issue i mean. Either way this is really pissing me off. I tried installing the CMS ebay tps sensor and the thing literally just completely fell apart as soon as i tried to install it. The back plastic piece just fell off along with the white plastic piece inside. Meh. Ebay. I kinda expected it.

Oh and Shima...you're absolutely right. I should've just left the TPS the way it was. The car was running perfectly fine. I'm just overly paranoid when it comes to maintenance issues.
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 12:50 PM   #19
Lambo123
The Professional
 
Lambo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Levittown, PA
Posts: 1,837
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

Just bought a multimeter. It's reading 12.9 volts with the car off and 14.4-5 volts with the car on. (I had just started it and it was idling low, around 750 rpm) If that means anything.
__________________
I drive my car every day. Rain, snow, or blizzard.
Autofair Honda>Majestic Honda.

Last edited by Lambo123; 04-06-2013 at 12:53 PM..
Lambo123 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2013, 01:52 PM   #20
crip
Lifetime Member
 
crip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.Florida
Posts: 2,689
Default Re: Problems with the TPS sensor? (K-Tuned)

well thats normal/good voltage. need you a different tps to test with.
__________________
SOLD TO:iboyma, donsep3, honda_12v, allmotorbubble, Nitro1018, ZAKE, alex_KS, Db2K, shattamac, spoonhacked, richir587, datdude814, FlacoNAEG, michalo187, youhan23, valerio123, 7800rpmlaunch, screech, miaep3, 1320whtrex, asnstyle22, rvf35nc, sictegboi3, 828DC5. BOUGHTFROM: josh2man, kid, ek9-10, stRoKeD, xbigpitax, ohsnapzfingcu, mountainK, ctechone01, jpax, kadamski5140, i-vtec-eg, mo_spec, chefandre, sik20, cjm, mlotz29, yeven_stas, REALDEAL, KDub-ZeroEG, jchetty, 2.4L ef, nine2fivek20, blankyjet TRADED WITH: Acurazor, rsxmatt1985 VOUCHES: josolanes, sik20, flipsx3, noobiemcnooberson, BMFC
crip is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.