EF pulley setup? - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
lemonhead
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Default EF pulley setup?

I'm looking for info regarding the cleanest Pulley setup that will clear the EF siR style hood, PS and AC obviously arent being used, I have heard about a EP3 pulley setup?, and a AEM alternator pulley 3 pulley setup?, I'm looking for the most simple way to do this....I'm just about to drop the motor in the car now and just kinda sorting out some things, also what parts do I remove from the motor that are not needed for the pulley setups
lemonhead is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2006, 11:30 PM   #2
Rywire
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Rywire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 655
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

I run the 3 pulley setup... You need a larger alternator pulley from aem, and a shorter belt. Also, you need tension so you can use washers to shim under the alternator... using the aleternator as the tensioner Works great!

Ryan
__________________
I-VTEC = powa
www.rywire.com
Rywire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 09:34 AM   #3
lemonhead
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Cool so you havnt had an issue with the belt rubbing being so close to itself and all??....what RPM have you ran your motor up to so far with this setup??

does anybody know where to buy just the alternator pulley without PS or do you just have to break down and buy both?
lemonhead is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 05:57 PM   #4
Rywire
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Rywire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 655
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

I have reved it to like 8,700ish it has had no issues like this... I got lucky and found a used kit on ebay for like 70 bux. I sold the PS piece and belt for 25, so I made out good
Ryan
__________________
I-VTEC = powa
www.rywire.com
Rywire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 08:31 PM   #5
lemonhead
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 75
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Cool man well I just found a new one for $90 so that looks like the route I'm going, are you still using the same belt that you qouted on your how to of the K20 swap or have you recently changed belt lenghts or widths?
lemonhead is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2006, 10:45 PM   #6
Rywire
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Rywire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 655
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Nope, same part number
__________________
I-VTEC = powa
www.rywire.com
Rywire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 09:27 AM   #7
FleaBiscuit
K20a.org Basic User
 
FleaBiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 213
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Ok, now here is a question for those running the 3-pulley setup...

Are you comfortable with the fact that with the setup in place and tensioned, you can easily rotate the water pump by hand? Are you confident that you are not getting any belt slippage under load with the water pump maybe being held back by water, and therefore cuasing a possible excessive wear on the belt, or maybe not enough flow in the water while racing?


THis is the reason we went with the setup that we did on the Green CRX... it allowed the water pump to be 75% roughly wrapped with the belt, so that engagement was -positive-... wound up using the tensioner as a idler pulley, with it unable to tension, so you still have to space the alternator, but it works great...

Just a thought
FleaBiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 09:29 AM   #8
FleaBiscuit
K20a.org Basic User
 
FleaBiscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 213
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Also, to those using the EP3 setup... are you comfy with the proximity of the pulley to your hood? and what exactly is that distance... has anyone ever clay-checked it to see?
FleaBiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2006, 09:39 PM   #9
Rywire
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Rywire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 655
Thumbs up Re: EF pulley setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FleaBiscuit
Also, to those using the EP3 setup... are you comfy with the proximity of the pulley to your hood? and what exactly is that distance... has anyone ever clay-checked it to see?
We did, and its very close!! I believe we can make it fit so ill let everyone know in about a week
__________________
I-VTEC = powa
www.rywire.com
Rywire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2006, 07:02 AM   #10
crxracer
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

aem true power
crxracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2006, 11:37 AM   #11
Rywire
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Rywire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 655
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by crxracer
hi, i have a problem with 3 pulley setup on k20a3

i put the AEM pulley on alternator i have buy a POLY COG 5070390 belt,
i use the 2 other oem pulley, but i can't put the belt on; she to short

anyone can help me?

tank

"i use the 2 other oem pulley" expand on this for me...
__________________
I-VTEC = powa
www.rywire.com
Rywire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2006, 11:12 AM   #12
crxracer
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

"i use the 2 other oem pulley"; 2 pulley stock (honda) on the motor...
crxracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2006, 11:17 AM   #13
crxracer
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

http://www.ff-squad.com/tech/k20stuff/k20.3pulley1.jpg

like that but on k20a3 , and i don't put any washer for alternator and i can't put the belt on...
crxracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2006, 07:39 PM   #14
Rywire
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Rywire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Jose
Posts: 655
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Thats the 3 pulley setup
__________________
I-VTEC = powa
www.rywire.com
Rywire is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2006, 08:12 AM   #15
crxracer
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

yes but i can't put the belt on...

the 2 pulley stock are the same size on k20a2 and k20a3?
crxracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2006, 03:59 PM   #16
signalpuke
Keep walking...
 
signalpuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14,265,470
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Will the Obx alt pulley work for the three pully setup? I was trying to find dimensions of the Aem and the Obx, but came up empty handed.
__________________

New to the K-Series? ☆★☆★ DIY and FAQ ★☆★☆ <------- CLICK THE LINK!
Otatsiihtaissiiststakio piksi makamo ta psswia
signalpuke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2006, 07:11 PM   #17
blackwagon
K20a.org Basic User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 310
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by signalpuke
Will the Obx alt pulley work for the three pully setup? I was trying to find dimensions of the Aem and the Obx, but came up empty handed.
obx is the same size as stock, aem is a little bigger.
blackwagon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2006, 08:44 AM   #18
crxracer
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 66
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

anyone use the 3 pulley set up on k20a3?
crxracer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2006, 03:47 PM   #19
Crx2nr822
K20a.org Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oxnard, Ca
Posts: 651
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

In a recent issue of honda tuning magazine I saw a Hasport alternator relocation kit being used on a k20 crx. I'm curious to hear some more information about this product. I contacted Hasport and they said it will be available in the future, but didnt have a release date yet......it looked great because it seemed like a simple set up and made the pulley system easily fit underneath the hood.
Crx2nr822 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2006, 05:42 PM   #20
signalpuke
Keep walking...
 
signalpuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 14,265,470
Default Re: EF pulley setup?

I have heard of a smaller alternator that can be used, I will try to find it.
__________________

New to the K-Series? ☆★☆★ DIY and FAQ ★☆★☆ <------- CLICK THE LINK!
Otatsiihtaissiiststakio piksi makamo ta psswia
signalpuke is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.