Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec - Page 3 - K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2012, 09:56 AM   #41
H23VTECLUDE
Lifetime Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Quote:
Originally Posted by markymark203 View Post
Thanks Kyle def eased my anxiety lol.

I've actually got the passenger side mount and axles out so I can get at the cover and remove it if you'd like..
Oh ok. Well I'll see how it looks tonight and we'll go from there.
__________________
13203
RIP NICK HAINES(NHSwaps13203). I WILL MISS YOU HOMIE
Gone but not Forgotten
H23VTECLUDE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2012, 06:24 PM   #42
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Quote:
Originally Posted by markymark203 View Post
Think I got it. I had the tps and map plugs switched. Would that do it? Also now that I'm trying to adjust the tps I can only get as low as 1.5v at closed throttle and I'm at 5.10 at wot.

Think I used an accord tps. Would that matter?

Can anyone confirm if this is even a k24 tps sensor?
TPS needs to read .5 volts closed and 4.5 when open, No exceptions.
What TB are you using? The MAP should be moved to the RBC for a test purpose. This way we can be certain it will read manifold pressure.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 06:26 PM   #43
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@K-Tuned View Post
TPS needs to read .5 volts closed and 4.5 when open, No exceptions.
What TB are you using? The MAP should be moved to the RBC for a test purpose. This way we can be certain it will read manifold pressure.
I know the voltages.. I'm actually waiting on a new tps. Mine won't calibrate correctly. I also tried plugging it into that Map since both are still there. Still no spark.
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-19-2012, 06:50 PM   #44
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Well the TPS is wrong. Base TPS on a S TB is not going to work.
You will also have to move your MAP to the manifold. Because you don't have the correct S TB on there.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:16 PM   #45
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@K-Tuned View Post
Well the TPS is wrong. Base TPS on a S TB is not going to work.
You will also have to move your MAP to the manifold. Because you don't have the correct S TB on there.
I'm not using the tb from the picture in my build thread, just the sensors. I'm using a type s.

How do you know the TPS is wrong? I actually used ALL sensors from that TB on my type s one seeing it came with no sensors.
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:38 PM   #46
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

That is the problem.

Because the clocking on the base model TPS is different than the Type-S they cannot be interchanged.
Trust me on the TPS, it is wrong, that is why it won't calibrate to 0.5 V closed for you.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:40 PM   #47
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

I also think I see a 05-06 Type-S TB on your motor. With that TB you need to move the MAP to the RBC so it will read.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:49 PM   #48
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@K-Tuned View Post
I also think I see a 05-06 Type-S TB on your motor. With that TB you need to move the MAP to the RBC so it will read.
So just plug it into the other map sensor I currently have? Probably no need to buy a new one.

Yea when calibrating the tps voltage it seemed I couldn't turn it enough.

Thanks Mike, I'm gonna give new sensors a go tomorrow...
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:51 PM   #49
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Quote:
Originally Posted by markymark203 View Post
So just plug it into the other map sensor I currently have? Probably no need to buy a new one.

Yea when calibrating the tps voltage it seemed I couldn't turn it enough.

Thanks Mike, I'm gonna give new sensors a go tomorrow...
Plug into the MAP sensor that works... Not the one you used when the TPS and MAP sensor plugs were reversed.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 07:55 PM   #50
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@K-Tuned View Post
Plug into the MAP sensor that works... Not the one you used when the TPS and MAP sensor plugs were reversed.
Right that's what I meant. Just didn't know of the 06 Si used a different sensor. Seems a bit smaller but plugs in fine.
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2012, 08:08 PM   #51
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

The 06 Si sensor reads the same way., so it will be fine as long as it is good. The clip is slightly different though. Look at your Type-S MAP and file the 06 Si MAP to match it.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 04:26 PM   #52
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@K-Tuned View Post
The 06 Si sensor reads the same way., so it will be fine as long as it is good. The clip is slightly different though. Look at your Type-S MAP and file the 06 Si MAP to match it.
Seemed to plug right in..
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 04:43 PM   #53
Mike@K-Tuned
K20A.org Sponsor
 
Mike@K-Tuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: K-TUNED
Posts: 6,392
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Good stuff.
__________________
RACE K-TUNED PROVEN
PM me for K-Tuned parts pricing, orders and swap tech support.
My personal no BS policy is always in effect.


Website: www.k-tuned.com
Email: mike@k-tuned.com

My Vouch Thread: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54719
Swap Packages: http://k-tuned.3dcartstores.com/Swap-Packages_c_42.html

Mike@K-Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 04:53 PM   #54
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Main relay passenger side is buzzing with key on.. Grabbing one tomorrow. Does that attribute to spark?
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2012, 02:37 PM   #55
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Update. I fixed the fuel pump ground. I had it grounded to the green and yellow wire on the relay plug instead. Oops. No more relay noises. But still no CEL. what could I have blown? All fuses seem good?
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2012, 08:05 PM   #56
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default

Ok so after staring at this thing for hours tonight I decided to check fuses one more time seeing that new problems have just been manifesting overnight.

Found a blown fuse this time under the dash. 7.5 for Alternator/Speed Sensor. Not sure why this doesn't allow spark but it doesn't. Replaced it and walla! Spark!👍

New sensors monday and she should fire!
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2012, 09:24 AM   #57
markymark203
K20a.org Master User
 
markymark203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 203
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Glowing header was fixed with those 2 middle (cyl 2-3) injectors replaced, after 500 miles though it feels like its not as fast as it should be up in the top end. these are the plugs after 500 miles.






Going to use my friends kpro tonight to see if we can acquire a basemap from someone here to help with this lean situation. I'm afraid it's more than fuel though and maybe ignition related due to higher c/r and the milling of head and block.
__________________
markymark203 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2015, 09:24 AM   #58
IronGumby
New Member
 
IronGumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 18
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@K-Tuned View Post
I also think I see a 05-06 Type-S TB on your motor. With that TB you need to move the MAP to the RBC so it will read.
Sorry to thread-jack (but it is old and this is related) but can you elaborate why or how this has to be done? I have a K20Z1 (with 05-06 TB) and want to run a PRC manifold. I have to do something similar? (It is known that it doesn't work without a 02-04 TB but there has to be a reason why and a way to adapt mine to work w/o Kpro.) Thanks a bunch

Last edited by IronGumby; 04-24-2015 at 09:28 AM..
IronGumby is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2016, 09:19 PM   #59
katman
Lifetime Member
 
katman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCAL
Posts: 1,397
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

How is a Z1 T/B different than an K20A/A2 T/B?

I know the BASE RSX TB is unique and shitty all at once because its specifically made for the Base's plastic dual runner manifold (has its own unique map sensor vaccum port unlike an A2 TB)
__________________
1 3 5
2 4 6 Zigen
RIP ADAM WEST
-----------------------
FF SQUAD | FFS TechNet | FFS Videos
katman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2017, 12:32 PM   #60
IronGumby
New Member
 
IronGumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 18
Default Re: Header Glowing Red Hot after 90 sec

Oh wow I've been MIA and never saw or responded to this:
The Z1 TB is different. Found out it doesn't have the MAP vacuum port honed out to the body/cavity of the TB itself. The easy solution is to cut/dremel a slit in an aftermarket phenolic TB gasket to port the air to the body from the MAP port/path.
@kay_animation figured it out: http://www.k20a.org/forum/showthread.php?t=127082
IronGumby is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the K20A.org .:. The K Series Source . Honda / Acura K20a k24a Engine Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.